Trademark Law Research

Gilson on Trademarks features:
• Comprehensive and current treatment of trademark law in the United States, with clear explanations of basic principles and expert discussion of complex issues;
• Detailed analysis of infringement, trade dress, right of publicity, false advertising, counterfeiting,dilution and trademark law remedies with extensive case citation;
• Full coverage of domain name registration and protection under U.S. law and the UDRP;
• More than 450 trademark practice forms on all aspects of USPTO proceedings, complete with drafting guides, practice tips and filing requirements;
• Practice forms and drafting guides for federal and state trademark litigation, assignments, licenses, recordal with Customs and domain name challenges; and more.

Written by one of the nation’s foremost trademark practitioners, the new Sixth Edition of Kane on Trademark Law tells you everything you need to know about trademark issues and tactics.

How do your facts stack up against the cases? Kane on Trademark Law, Sixth Edition will not only tell you with illustrative lists of cases on both sides of all major trademark issues, but will show you with full-color illustrations of previously litigated marks.

The new Sixth Edition of Kane on Trademark Law provides court-tested practical suggestions, including how to:

spot potential conflicts and save searching time and expense with effective shortcuts,
overcome common descriptiveness rejections,
update or amend registrations based on changes in the mark, and
prepare for depositions and prepare your deponents for the ordeal ahead.

Kane on Trademark Law, Sixth Edition will also bring you the latest on:

internet issues, such as social media, ICANN domain names and likely confusion factors in keyword advertising cases,
the courts’ increasing reliance on surveys in proving dilution under the Lanham Act
the extension of work-product protection to communications between counsel and expert witnesses under amended Federal Rule 26,
the First Amendment defense in cases involving parody and negative comments by competitors, and
the increasing number of cases cracking down on counterfeiters and willful infringers.

Plus you get easy access to key forms, step-by-step checklists and excerpts from key statutes.

Updated at least once a year, Kane on Trademark Law is an essential reference for trademark specialists and other intellectual property attorneys, non-specialists assisting individual in trademark matters, corporate lawyers, trademark officials, and individuals seeking trademark protection.

McCarthy on Trademarks and Unfair Competition is a treatise which explains trademark law with clear, concise analyses of cases and statutes, providing advice on registering and protecting trademarks.

A comprehensive resource covering the laws and rules regulating trademark law at both the federal and state levels. Coverage includes federal and state laws, federal regulations, pending legislation, U.S. Supreme Court docket; court decisions; and agency advisory and adjudicative determinations. The reporter provides the full text of the Lanham Trademark Act of 1946, as amended; U.S. Patent and Trademark Office regulations; the PTO's Trademark Manual of Examining Procedure; the Trademark Trial and Appeal Board Manual of Procedure; and the trademark statutes of all 50 states. It also includes CCH explanations that discuss, summarize, and coordinate law, rule interpretations, and court decisions. In addition, the reporter provides the full text of court opinions and selected administrative decisions by the Trademark Trial and Appeal Board. Monthly updates.