Skip to main content

Criminology & Criminal Justice

Federal

The United States government publishes a great deal of information related to all aspects of criminal justice.  Much of this is now available on the web; some significant key online publications were noted under the Statistics tab of this guide.  The Pius Library Government Documents website (http://lib.slu.edu/research/government-documents) describes the content of the library's federal documents collection.  

Some of the agency web links below link, in turn, to other subject, state, and local resources. For assistance identifying and locating web-based government information on criminal justice, as well as related publications held in paper or microfiche formats in the Pius Library government documents collection, consult a research & instruction librarian.

U.S. Department of Homeland Security (DHS)             https://www.dhs.gov/

U.S. Department of Justice (DOJ)                               https://www.justice.gov/

State and Local Government

https://www.loc.gov/rr/news/stategov/index.html
 
https://www.cityprotect.com/

     Crime mapping tool that includes a tip submission function for community members to share information with law enforcement entities.

Other

https://www.aclu.org/
 
https://www.asisonline.org/
     The largest organization of security professionals worldwide; formerly the American Society for International Security.
 
https://www.corporatecrimereporter.com/
Legal newsletter published commercially since 1987.  The Web site provides selected newswire stories, documents, reports, and interviews.
 
http://www.corrections.com/
From the site: "Award-winning daily news is at the core of our business, with the most comprehensive database of vendor intelligence in corrections."
 
https://www.deathpenaltyinfo.org/
A "a non-profit organization serving the media and the public with analysis and information on issues concerning capital punishment."
 
http://broadsides.law.harvard.edu/
Digitized collection, covering 1707 to 1891, of broadsides highlighting crime and capital punishment, primarily in England, as seen through the popular press during the eighteenth- and nineteenth-centuries.  Many describe sentences handed out in the proceedings of the Old Bailey, London's central criminal court.  From the broadsides collection of the Harvard Law School Library.  See also: Old Bailey Online -- The Proceedings of the Old Bailey, 1674-1913.

https://famous-trials.com/
Includes background and pertinent documents--much of it primary source material--about well-known trials dating back to Socrates.  Developed and maintained by Doug Linder, J.D. (University of Missouri-Kansas City, School of Law).
https:/vault.fbi.gov/
Declassified FBI records of high-profile organizations and individuals.  The records may not be complete and some of the referenced information may be masked because it remains classified.
 

Gang Research.Net
http://gangresearch.net/
     Examines the nature of gangs in the United States,with emphasis on Chicago gangs.  Compiled and maintained by John
     Hagedorn, Ph.D. (University of Illinois at Chicago; Department of Criminal Justice).

 

Gun Violence Archive 
https://www.gunviolencearchive.org/ 
     Non-profit, non-advocacy organization that provides information on gun-related violence in the United States compiled from an               array of sources.  The analysis/opinion information is dated, but the statistical data is current.
 

https://www.innocenceproject.org/
From the source: "...a national litigation and public policy organization dedicated to exonerating wrongfully convicted individuals through DNA testing and reforming the criminal justice system to prevent future injustice."
 
http://www.icc-cpi.int/
Independent international organization based in The Hague, the Netherlands.

https://www.interpol.int/
 
https://www.jrsa.org/
National nonprofit organization that "conducts and publishes policy-relevant research on justice issues" and "maintains a clearinghouse of state criminal justice activities."
 
https://www.ncjfcj.org/
 
https://nrccfi.camden.rutgers.edu/
Resources for and about families with prisoners.
 
https:// www.oldbaileyonline.org/
Searchable digitized collection of the records from London's central criminal court - a wonderful resource for historical research.  A collaborative effort, published by HRI Online Publications.  See also: Dying Speeches & Bloody Murders: Crime Broadsides
 
https://www.prisonpolicy.org/
Non-profit think tank that researches and publishes about, and advocates against mass incarceration and other U.S. prison practices.
 
https://trac.syr.edu/
Self described as "...source for comprehensive, independent, and nonpartisan information about federal enforcement, staffing, and spending."
 
United Nations. 
‚Äč

The World Factbook of Criminal Justice Systems.  Bureau of Justice Statistics.

http://www.bjs.gov/content/pub/html/wfcj.cfm
 

Professional and Other Organizations

https//www.acjs.org/default.aspx
 
http://www.aca.org/
 
http://www.appa-net.org/eweb/StartPage.aspx
 
https://www.asc41.com/
 
http://www.cjcj.org/
 
https://www.nccdglobal.org/
 
https://www.ncpc.org/
 
http://www.ncja.org/
 
https://www.drugabuse.gov/
 
https://www.rand.org/well-being/justice-policy/centers/quality-policing.html