Research Guides: EDUC 1300: Exceptional Learners: Helpful Resources for you Course

Helpful Databases

If you need help knowing what type of source will work best for your research, please refer to the Rhetorical Breakdown of Sources document:

Rhetorical Breakdown of Sources

SLU's Discovery Database & Library Catalog Databases

SLUth - Search Plus This link opens in a new window
A multi-disciplinary "one-search" discovery search tool covering over 50 databases, the SLU Library Catalog, and journal content from multiple publishers.
Saint Louis University Libraries Catalog This link opens in a new window
Freely available online. 1818-present. Contains the most complete listing available of books, journals, videos, government documents, online resources, and other materials provided by the SLU Libraries for the use of Saint Louis University students, faculty, staff, and others.

Education Databases & Opposing Viewpoints

Education Source This link opens in a new window
1880-present. This major education database indexes and abstracts thousands of journal articles and hundreds of books relating to all aspects of education from pre-K through higher education.
ERIC (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
1966-present. A major education database for locating articles, technical reports, policy papers, curriculum guides, lesson plans, research reports, and more about all levels of education.
Opposing Viewpoints This link opens in a new window
Provides pro-con resources for topics in the media by including the Opposing Viewpoints book series; journal, magazine, and newspaper articles; statistics; and more.

Helpful Scholarly Journals

Exceptional Children
Original research on the education and development of exceptional infants, toddlers, children and youth and articles on professional issues of concern to special educators made on the basis of blind peer review.
The Gifted Child Quarterly
Contains published articles that offer research findings and new and creative insights about giftedness and talent development in the context of the school, the home, and the wider society.
Journal of Learning Disabilities
Provides specials series (in-depth coverage of topics in the field, such as mathematics, sciences and the learning disabilities field as discursive practice), feature articles (extensive literature reviews, theoretical papers, and position papers), research articles (reports of qualitative and quantitative empirical research), and intervention articles (overviews of successful interventions)
Remedial and Special Education
Offers interdisciplinary articles that bridge the gap between theory and practice involving the education of individuals for whom typical instruction is not effective. Articles include topical reviews, syntheses of research, field evaluation studies, and recommendations for practice of remedial and special education.
Teacher Education and Special Education: The Journal of the Teacher Education Division of the Council for Exceptional Children
Teacher Education and Special Education (TESE) creates a research forum dedicated to the preparation and professional development of teachers, scholars, leaders, and other support personnel who serve children, youth, and adults with disabilities and their families.

Streaming Film Databases

Academic Video Online (AVON) This link opens in a new window
Access to over 70,000 videos covering a range of subject areas.
Alexander Street Streaming Video This link opens in a new window
On-demand streaming video service for selected films from Alexander Street.
Kanopy This link opens in a new window
On-demand streaming video service for educational institutions.

Newspaper Databases

Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Formerly LexisNexis Academic, Nexis Uni provides access to full-text of local, national, and international news sources; business, financial, and company information; legal sources for state and federal levels.
New York Times Digital Subscription This link opens in a new window
1851-present. Use this link to register for a NYT online account using your @slu.edu or @health.slu.edu email address.
Wall Street Journal Digital Subscription This link opens in a new window
The SLU Libraries provide WSJ memberships to all SLU students, faculty, and staff. Readers have complete and personalized digital access to The Wall Street Journal and the WSJ app. The SLU Community can activate their complimentary memberships by visiting this link, logging into the SLU school portal, and creating a WSJ account on the registration page. Accounts must be reactivated after 365 days by visiting the library's link to WSJ, logging into the SLU portal, and then into your WSJ account.

Helpful Websites on Education

Illinois Department of Education
Includes Illinois education information and data.
Illinois State Board of Education
Some information in this website requires a login username and password. This website also provides a lot of helpful resources that does not require a username and password.
Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education
Includes Missouri education information and data.
U.S. Department of Education
"ED's mission is to promote student achievement and preparation for global competitiveness by fostering educational excellence and ensuring equal access." This site provides, press releases, blogs, speeches, etc.

EDUC 1300: Exceptional Learners

Student Success and Wellness Librarian

Navigating the SLU Libraries Website

Searching for Book & Starting your Research with SLUth General Tutorials

Helpful Databases

Helpful Websites on Education