Find the best library databases for your research at SLU.
The most frequently-used databases
The following databases are newly acquired or being evaluated for a future subscription.
Freely available online. Brings together hundreds of prison newspapers from across the country into one collection that represents penal institutions of all kinds, with special attention paid to women-only institutions.
Search the index and abstracts in this database for the professional and academic literature of psychology and related disciplines. Content includes journal articles, books, book chapters, and dissertations in English. Find full text for search results using the Find It @ SLU button.
Note: SLU Libraries' access to PsycINFO on OVID ended on 10/1/2024. Access will remain on EBSCOhost.
Freely available online. Focuses on unearthing and digitizing the histories of civil rights activism by the everyday citizens of Black, Latine, Indigenous, and Asian American/Pacific Islander communities.
Freely available online. Includes periodicals that depict the various political, literary, and cultural forms that Black Americans used to advance their vision in the ongoing struggle for liberation and dignity, with content from magazines and newsletters from women’s organizations, religious groups, labor organizations, and more.
Access includes Volumes I-V. Contains footage from therapy sessions, training videos, and reenactments by counseling professionals.
Includes five million print & digitized newspapers, journals, books, pamphlets, dissertations, archives, government publications, and other resources from all world regions held by the Center for Research Libraries. Through SLU Libraries' CRL membership, SLU users can access digital items using their SLU credentials and request delivery or digitization of print items via Interlibrary Loan by clicking on “Borrow” within the item record and then selecting “Saint Louis University”.
Freely available online. A resource for understanding the multifaceted roles that art has played in responding to, reckoning with, and remembering the AIDS crisis.
Freely available online. A collection of alternative press newspapers, magazines and journals, produced by feminists, dissident GIs, campus radicals, Native Americans, anti-war activists, Black Power advocates, Hispanics, LGBT activists, the extreme right-wing press and alternative literary magazines during the latter half of the 20th century.
Quality literature available for almost 500 Renaissance and Reformation topics, from artisans to witch hunts. OBO articles are written by leading scholars and are regularly updated to ensure they are accurate and reflect current research.
Brings together the world's leading scholars to write review essays that evaluate the current thinking on a field or topic, and make an original argument about the future direction of the debate.
Presents comprehensive, peer-reviewed overviews, written by top scholars from across the globe. Browse a growing collection of articles covering religion.
1949 - 2010. This St. Louis newspaper describes itself as the “voice of the area's African-American community.” It provides first-hand accounts and coverage of the politics, society, and events of the time.
Freely available online. Provides access to primary sources documenting the deep and broad history of student organizing in the United States.
Provides current best practices of conducting teletherapy, designed to help viewers better recognize mental health disorders and provide accurate diagnoses via mental health videos aligned to DSM‐5‐TR/ICD 10 content.
