Research Guides: American Studies: Reference Sources

Search Reference eBooks

Encyclopedia of American Studies
Covers the history, philosophy, arts, and cultures of the United States in relation to the world, from pre-colonial days to the present, from various perspectives and the global American Studies movement.

Gale eBooks This link opens in a new window
Formerly Gale Virtual Reference Library (GVRL). A growing collection of reference books. Subjects include history, philosophy, religion, science, business, careers, literature, law, medicine, education, and more....more.
African American Studies Center This link opens in a new window
Ancient and Medieval Worlds to present. Materials available include topical articles, biographies, primary source documents, timelines, maps, and images in addition to articles from several reference titles... more.

American Decades, 1900-1999
A cross-disciplinary source for researchers who need a single, consistent reference to document and analyze periods of contemporary American social history.
American Decades, 2000-2009
Covers everything from monumental events and groundbreaking individuals to the details of Americans' daily lives.
Encyclopedia of American Cultural and Intellectual History
Surveys the richly layered dimensions of American life in a format that clarifies the many issues, ideas, movements and places that constitute the American experience.
Dictionary of American History
eBook

Encyclopedia of American History by Gary B. Nash, ed.
Call Number: Ref. E174 .E53 2002
Available in the Pius Library Reference collection, Level 2 South.

American National Biography Online This link opens in a new window
Find biographies of over 19,000 deceased men and women who made significant contributions to building the United States.
There is 1 simultaneous user for this database....more.