Research Guides: Communication: Articles

Business Rankings

Fortune 500
Fortune magazine conducts an annual ranking of America's largest corporations. Includes lists by industry, state & CEO.

Domestic Company Directories

Sorkins Directory of Business and Government This link opens in a new window
Provides company directory and business profile information including email addresses for companies in the St. Louis, Kansas City, and Chicago Metropolitan Areas including the states of Missouri, Kansas, and Illinois.
Available in Pius Library & the Business School only.…more.

Article databases

Each of the following subscription (SLU-only) resources can be used to find company profiles and/or financial information. Company profiles may include such information as corporate history, executive leadership, financial performance, market share, and more.

SLUth - Search Plus This link opens in a new window
Use SLUth to start your information search - find journal articles across all disciplines, plus newspaper articles, books, ebooks and more! Some major databases such as ABI/INFORM Complete, Biological Abstracts, PsycINFO, and Sociological Abstracts are not included....more.

Business Source Premier
Use the Document Type filter to choose Company Report to limit to company profiles. Also good for finding articles from the business press that mention a company.

Opposing Viewpoints This link opens in a new window
Provides pro-con resources for many topics such as hybrid cars, terrorism, legalizing marijuana, and health care by including the Opposing Viewpoints book series and much more....more.
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Formerly LexisNexis Academic, Nexis Uni provides access to full-text of local, national, and international news sources; business, financial, and company information; legal sources for state and federal levels...more.
CQ Researcher This link opens in a new window
10/25/1991-present. Each issue of this resource explores all sides of a "hot" current topic in some depth. Use it to find research topic ideas, refine a topic, or get background information on a topic...more.
ABI/INFORM Collection This link opens in a new window
1900-present. Includes ABI/INFORM Global, ABI/INFORM Trade and Industry and ABI/INFORM Dateline. Indexes and abstracts thousands of journals, trade publications, and regional and local business publications in all areas of business and management, many with an international focus... more.
ERIC (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
1966-present. A major database for locating articles, technical reports, policy papers, curriculum guides, lesson plans, research reports, and more about all levels of education. Provided by SLU's MOREnet membership....more.