Research Guides: CORE 1000: Medicine, Magic & Religion in Shakespeare: Home

Find Historical Definitions

Oxford English Dictionary Online (OED) This link opens in a new window
The OED traces a word's development in the English language from its date of introduction to the present. Contains current meanings and includes etymologies and historical quotations. British focus….more.

JSTOR Understanding Shakespeare
Pick a text and pick a passage. Instantly see articles and chapters quoting that passage.

JSTOR This link opens in a new window
This primarily archival journal resource and current scholarship program journals provide access to full-text of approximately 1200 unique journal titles

Pick one works by browsing to it or searching for it by author or title.
Read the work -- you’ll notice as you do that next to each passage is a number. That number represents the number of articles and chapters in JSTOR that quote that specific passage.
Click on the passage you want to study. You’ll see a new window with relevant articles and chapters.
Research. Look through the articles and chapters quoting your passage.
- You can filter the results you’re seeing by date, content type or whether or not you have access to the documents.
- If you’re not sure based on the title and metadata of an article, you can preview how it discusses the passage by looking at the snippets or page-previews.
- When you find one you want to read, click the title to go to the article page (where the quoted passages will be highlighted in the text), download the PDF or save it to MyWorkspace

Early English Books Online This link opens in a new window
Contains page images of virtually every work printed in England, Ireland, Scotland, Wales and British North America, as well as works in English printed elsewhere between 1473 and 1700. Transcriptions are available for more than 40% of these titles. more.

MLA Handbook Plus This link opens in a new window
Includes the ninth edition of the MLA Handbook, the first editions of both the MLA Guide to Digital Literacy and the MLA Guide to Undergraduate Research in Literature, and a video course teaching MLA documentation style through short videos, quizzes, and an assessment.