Associate Dean for Research and Faculty Development
Professor of Law
University of Illinois Chicago School of Law
Steven D. Schwinn teaches constitutional law, comparative constitutional law, human rights, and a specially designed legal writing class on civil rights. Steve is the founding editor-in-chief of the American Constitution Society Supreme Court Review and founding co-editor of the Constitutional Law Prof Blog. He is a longtime member of the American Constitution Society Chicago Lawyers Chapter Board of Advisers.
Steve regularly works with high-school teachers and students on civics education, and he regularly speaks on issues related to constitutional law and public policy. Steve's writings have appeared in a variety of law reviews and other specialized periodicals, popular press publications, and online publications. He regularly writes for the American Bar Association's Preview of United States Supreme Court Cases and is a frequent commenter on issues related to constitutional law and human rights.
Professor Schwinn teaches Constitutional Law, First Amendment, Comparative Constitutional Law and Human Rights, and Lawyering Skills I: Civil Rights at UIC Law. He previously served as co-director of the International Human Rights Clinic, director of the clinical program, and the Edward T. and Noble W. Lee Chair in Constitutional Law for the 2015-2016 school year and in the Spring Semester 2023.
Professor Schwinn earned his B.A. from Michigan State University and his J.D. from the American University Washington College of Law. He previously taught at the University of Maryland School of Law and George Washington University Law School. He practiced full-time in the Office of the General Counsel at the Peace Corps.
For more works by Professor Steven D. Schwinn, please visit the University of Illinois Chicago-Louis L. Biro Law Library Institutional Repository, his SSRN Page, and the Constitutional Law Prof Blog.
Basic legal research workbook by
For more works by Professor Steven D. Schwinn, please visit the University of Illinois Chicago-Louis L. Biro Law Library Institutional Repository, his SSRN Page, and the Constitutional Law Prof Blog.
League WomenVoters | June 25, 2023
2023 Supreme Court Update with Professor Steve Schwinn
What are the cases to watch before the Supreme Court?
We are fortunate that Professor Steve Schwinn joined us once again to present the current issues before the Supreme Court and their implications. Schwinn is a professor at UIC Chicago Law School and is a frequent commentator on issues related to constitutional law and human rights. He is a co-founder and co-editor of the Constitutional Law Prof Blog.
This virtual program was presented on June 15, 2023, at the Wheaton Public Library and was cohosted by the League of Women Voters of Wheaton, Glen Ellyn, Roselle/Bloomingdale, Naperville, and Central Kane County as part of the Civic Awareness Series.
source: YouTube online database
UIC Law | April 3, 2020
Constitution in the Time of Coronavirus with Professor Steven D. Schwinn | UIC John Marshall Law School
On Thursday, April 2, UIC John Marshall Law School Professor Steve Schwinn, a renowned constitutional law scholar, presented his thoughts on the many interesting legal and constitutional issues surrounding the novel coronavirus (COVID-19) and governments' responses to it.
source: YouTube online database
Steven D. Schwinn | September 30, 2020
Amy Coney Barrett and the Affordable Care Act
Short video on how Justice Amy Coney Barrett could affect the Affordable Care Act (or Obamacare)
source: YouTube online database
UIC Alumni Association | August 11, 2020
Our Constitution in Challenging Times
How does our Constitution help us interpret and navigate the many societal issues facing us today? On August 5, at 12 p.m. CT, join UIC John Marshall Law School Professor Steve Schwinn, a renowned constitutional law scholar, for a conversation around the many legal and constitutional issues we are facing.
source: YouTube online database
American Bar Public Education Division | November 30, 2020
Preview of Fulton v. Philadelphia with UIC Professor Steven D. Schwinn
source: YouTube online database
UIC Law | April 22, 2020
Constitution in the Time of Coronavirus, Part II w/ Professor Steven D. Schwinn | UIC John Marshall Law
source: YouTube online database
UIC Law | January 14, 2021
A Conversation about Constitutional Law & the 2020 Presidential Election with Professor Steven D. Schwinn
Culminating in legal and political challenges to election results and the recent insurrection at the U.S. Capitol, the 2020 U.S. election was the most disruptive and contentious of our lifetimes. In the days since we've heard allegations of sedition and calls to invoke the 25th Amendment against the president, but with disinformation as prevalent as earnest punditry, what are the constitutional issues and remedies available under the law?
On January 13, constitutional law expert and UIC Law Professor Steven D. Schwinn led an interactive conversation about the implications of recent and future developments related to the 2020 presidential election. A frequent media commentator on constitutional issues, Professor Schwinn's recently published "Primer on Constitutional Issues Related to the Insurgency" (https://lawprofessors.typepad.com/con...) is available on his Con Law Prof Blog.
source: YouTube online database
American Bar Public Education Division | November 6, 2020
#SCOTUS chat with UIC Professor Steven D. Schwinn - Fulton v Philadelphia Recap and CA v Texas Preview
source: YouTube online database
UIC Law | April 9, 2020
Constitutional Law II: First Amendment Free Speech - Forum Analysis Review
In this UIC John Marshall Law School online course lecture example, Professor Steve Schwinn, a renowned constitutional law scholar, tackles First Amendment free speech forum analysis, as part of his Constitutional Law II course. In this asynchronous lecture, Professor Schwinn reviews forum analysis in the classroom before taking the class out onto the streets of Chicago to illustrate examples in the real world.
source: YouTube online database
Chicago-Kent College of Law at Illinois | June 8, 2017
Steven Schwinn at ACS Congressional Forum
At the panel discussion "Congressional Forum: Holding the President Accountable," held at Chicago-Kent College of Law on May 31, 2017, Steven Schwinn, Associate Professor at John Marshall Law School addressed the lack of a comprehensive theory of separation of powers in the current administration. He described many recent proposed policies and executive orders as "nonsensical flailing" and pointed out the difficulty of determining legal standing as they are challenged in the courts.
This event was hosted by the American Constitution Society for Law and Policy Chicago Lawyer Chapter and the ACSLP Chicago-Kent Student Chapter.
source: YouTube online database
For more works by Professor Steven D. Schwinn, please visit the University of Illinois Chicago-Louis L. Biro Law Library Institutional Repository, his SSRN Page, and the Constitutional Law Prof Blog.
ABC 7 Eyewitness News | June 29, 2023, by Mark Rivera and Liz Nagy
Chicago's academic institutions wrestle with SCOTUS affirmative action ruling
UIC professor of law Steve Schwinn spoke to ABC7 about the Supreme Court's affirmative action decision, as well as tomorrow's rulings on free speech and student debt.
source: ABC 7 Eyewitness News website
For more works by Professor Steven D. Schwinn, please visit the University of Illinois Chicago-Louis L. Biro Law Library Institutional Repository, his SSRN Page, and the Constitutional Law Prof Blog.