Provides digital access to 50 thematic series of American magazines and journals published between 1684 and 1912 and collected by the American Antiquarian Society. These periodicals document the life of America's people from the Colonial Era through the Civil War and Reconstruction.
Search the world's scholarly literature on the history of the United States and Canada.
1637-present. A growing collection of dissertations and masters theses from international universities and associations. Full text is primarily 1996-present.
1874-2003. Search the historical St. Louis Post-Dispatch.
1949 - 2010. This St. Louis newspaper describes itself as the “voice of the area's African-American community.” It provides first-hand accounts and coverage of the politics, society, and events of the time.
Freely available online. Provides access to primary sources documenting the deep and broad history of student organizing in the United States.
1989-present. Access to articles in Nexis Uni for local and regional news. For late-breaking news and articles available only on their Web site, please visit https://www.stltoday.com/
Freely available online. Focuses on unearthing and digitizing the histories of civil rights activism by the everyday citizens of Black, Latine, Indigenous, and Asian American/Pacific Islander communities.
Brings together primary source content relevant to civil rights in the U.S. with statistics and data from federal government sources and provides context with topic pages, timelines, and newspaper articles.
Provides access to millions of primary source, full-text/full-image documents on the most widely studied topics in 19th and 20th-century American history.
Freely available online. A collection of alternative press newspapers, magazines and journals, produced by feminists, dissident GIs, campus radicals, Native Americans, anti-war activists, Black Power advocates, Hispanics, LGBT activists, the extreme right-wing press and alternative literary magazines during the latter half of the 20th century.
Freely available online. Provides access to thousands of digitized issues of Catholic newspapers, including the St. Louis Review.
Includes five million print & digitized newspapers, journals, books, pamphlets, dissertations, archives, government publications, and other resources from all world regions held by the Center for Research Libraries. Through SLU Libraries' CRL membership, SLU users can access digital items using their SLU credentials and request delivery or digitization of print items via Interlibrary Loan by clicking on “Borrow” within the item record and then selecting “Saint Louis University”.
Search across all of SLU's subscribed ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Chicago Defender, Chicago Tribune, Kansas City Call, Los Angeles Times, The New York Times, St. Louis American, and St. Louis Post-Dispatch.