You can find primary sources in the SLU Libraries by searching SLUth - Search Plus. Add one of the following terms to your keyword search or look for these terms at the end of Library of Congress subjects in the SLU Libraries Catalog.
Example search terms:
Search primary source content from American history and culture such as African American Newspapers, Godey's Lady Book, and the Pennsylvania Gazette.
Freely available online. Focuses on unearthing and digitizing the histories of civil rights activism by the everyday citizens of Black, Latine, Indigenous, and Asian American/Pacific Islander communities.
Contains page images of virtually every work printed in England, Ireland, Scotland, Wales and British North America, as well as works in English printed elsewhere between 1473 and 1700. Transcriptions are available for more than 40% of these titles.
Search the full-text of over 182,000 English-language titles published 1701 to 1800 for subjects such as English literature, history, philosophy, linguistics, theology, music, fine arts, education, mathematics, and science.
Provides access to millions of primary source, full-text/full-image documents on the most widely studied topics in 19th and 20th-century American history.
Provides access to full-text of local, national, and international news sources; business, financial, and company information; legal sources for state and federal levels.
Brings together primary source content relevant to civil rights in the U.S. with statistics and data from federal government sources and provides context with topic pages, timelines, and newspaper articles.
1790-present. A curated primary source collection of U.S. government documents on immigration and border security.
Freely available online. Provides access to primary sources documenting the deep and broad history of student organizing in the United States.
Provides digital access to 50 thematic series of American magazines and journals published between 1684 and 1912 and collected by the American Antiquarian Society. These periodicals document the life of America's people from the Colonial Era through the Civil War and Reconstruction.
Freely available online. Brings together hundreds of prison newspapers from across the country into one collection that represents penal institutions of all kinds, with special attention paid to women-only institutions.
Freely available online. Includes periodicals that depict the various political, literary, and cultural forms that Black Americans used to advance their vision in the ongoing struggle for liberation and dignity, with content from magazines and newsletters from women’s organizations, religious groups, labor organizations, and more.
1909-2010. A leading Black newspaper published in Chicago.
Freely available online. A collection of alternative press newspapers, magazines and journals, produced by feminists, dissident GIs, campus radicals, Native Americans, anti-war activists, Black Power advocates, Hispanics, LGBT activists, the extreme right-wing press and alternative literary magazines during the latter half of the 20th century.
1881-2016. Historical archive of LA Times articles
1851 - 2017. Provides digital reproductions of every page from every available issue in the date range available. Search the full text and display pdf of article as well as position of article on the original page.
Provides access to approximately 1.8 million pages (over 28 million articles) of primary source newspapers published in the 19th century, which include newspapers from cities and rural areas throughout the United States.
Search across all of SLU's subscribed ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Chicago Defender, Chicago Tribune, Kansas City Call, Los Angeles Times, The New York Times, St. Louis American, and St. Louis Post-Dispatch.
1874-2003. Search the historical St. Louis Post-Dispatch.
1785-1985. Search the first 200 years of The Times (London) and display and print page images of individual articles or an entire page.
When searching primary source library databases, make sure you're searching for keywords and phrases that were used during the time period you're researching.