From the Royal Society of Chemistry, this is "a free chemical structure database providing fast text and structure search access to over 43 million structures from hundreds of data sources." (text from site 04/17/2016)...more.
PubChem provides a unified chemical search interface to locate information primarily on small molecules, but also larger molecules. It is another way to find information about a substance, compound, or bioassay. Information provided includes data, structure, use, and more. It also provides a Summary, Similar Structures Search, Related Records search, and PubMed MeSH Keyword search for each result.
This self-paced PubChem tutorial guides you through how to access chemical property and structure data that the hundreds of academic, government, and industrial sources contribute to PubChem. It includes step-by-step directions for how to find chemical information using chemical names, identifiers, molecular formulas, gene symbols, proteins, pathways, taxonomies, and structures. It also shows you how to use the rich connections between PubChem and other resources (like PubMed) to explore chemical information further, and how to download chemistry data from PubChem.
OSHA's premier one-stop shop for occupational chemical information compiled from several government agencies and organizations. Information available includes chemical identification and physical properties, exposure limits, and sampling information.
Provides synonym(s), properties, derivation, grade, hazards, and uses and more for chemicals and raw materials entries. General entries may define subdivisions of chemistry, give short biographies of famous chemists and define groups of chemicals or chemical phenomena in addition to many more categories.
Call Number: Pius Reference QD65 .L36 17th ed. on Level 5
Publication Date: 2016-10-05
The iconic chemistry handbook--extensively updated and thoroughly up to date The standard reference for chemists for more than 70 years, this resource contains vast amounts of facts, data, tabular material, and experimental findings in every area of chemistry. Included in this fully updated compendium are listings of the properties of more than 4,000 organic and 1,400 inorganic compounds. Lange's Handbook of Chemistry, 17th Edition, is divided into six sections--general information and conversion tables, spectroscopy, inorganic chemistry, organic chemistry, petroleum and petroleum products, biomass and biofuels, and environmental science. Features equations that allow you to calculate important values such as temperature and pressure * Contains newly expanded sections on timely topics, including the properties of petroleum products, the environmental properties of chemicals, and proper clean-up methods * Includes updated viscosity, thermal conductivity, critical constants, explosion limits, and vapor density data
Call Number: Pius Reference RS 51 .M4 15th ed. 2013 on Level 5
Publication Date: 15th edition, 2013
The Merck Index is the definitive reference work for scientists and professionals looking for authoritative information on chemicals, drugs and biologicals. Provides information on the uses, synthesis, physical, and toxicological properties of about 10,000 compounds selected for their applicability to biology, medicine, and ecology.
This online reference book is a primary resource for current and authoritative chemical data for the properties of organic and inorganic compounds along with basic constants, units, and conversion factors; scientific abbreviations and symbols; thermochemistry, electrochemistry, and kinetics; fluid properties; analytical chemistry; health and safety data; and much more. Structure searching for over 10,000 compounds is also available. This database has 2 simultaneous users.
Since its inception in the early 1950′s, this book has become the number one resource for those who need to evaluate the hazard of substances used in commerce. Now in its eleventh edition, it contains extensive data on approximately 26,000 substances, including 2000 new entries. The three-volume set now includes Immediately Dangerous Life or Health (IDHL) levels for approximately 1000 chemicals, proving essential for designing adequate ventilation systems and selection of respiratory protection. Other highlights include: A special appendix containing information of nerve gases and biological agents that might appear in the workplace as a result of terrorist activity It is the only reference that combines, for so many substances, data on toxicological, fire, reactivity, explosive potential, and regulatory information Regulatory data covers exposure level classifications for a number of regulatory agencies, from OSHA to the U.S. Department of Transportation Sax′s Dangerous Properties of Industrial Materials, Eleventh Edition provides an essential, up-to-date resource for professionals in industrial hygiene, safety, emergency response, law, and policymaking.