Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Victorian Literature

This guide contains information on how to research Victorian literature and culture.

Journal Articles

Journal articles are usually comprised of original research that is focused on a very narrow aspect of a topic. These articles are written by scholars in a given field and are very authoritative and reliable. Journal articles are published more quickly than books, offering more current information.

 

Journal Articles

SLUth Search Plus searches about 100 library databases, including several literature databases (MLA International Bibliography, JSTOR, and Project Muse.) and the SLU Libraries Catalog.

Your librarian recommends the following library database for literary research. It is contained within SLUth Search Plus. However, MLA International Bibliography offers advanced search functionality when searched alone. 

Search Tips

MLA International Bibliography offers many specialized search options, including the following. 

Browse Authors (Quickly find all of the articles in MLA that are about a specific author.)

  • example: Milton, John

Browse Works (Quickly find all of the articles in MLA that are about a specific work.)

  • example: Paradise Lost

MLA Thesaurus (Use to find articles in MLA about a specific subject, literary technique, etc.)

  • examples: ecocriticism, nature, vitalism, materialism

Your librarian recommends the following library database for historical research. It is contained within SLUth Search Plus. However, Historical Abstracts offers advanced search functionality when searched alone. 

Historical Abstracts gives you the option to search for journal articles ABOUT a specific historical period. This option is available on the main search screen.

  • Example Keyword Search: liberalism AND England
  • Historical Period: 1837-1901

Note: Your search may return articles that are about a BROADER time period than you've specified, but the articles will definitely include the historical period you're interested in.

When researching Victorian literature topics related to psychology and medicine, you may want to search these databases in addition to the above literature databases.