Research Guides: St. Louis History: Reference Sources

Encyclopedias & General Histories

Encyclopedia of the History of St. Louis, a Compendium of History and Biography for Ready Reference by William Hyde
Call Number: Ref. F474 .S2 H9
Free eBook. Also available in the Pius Library Reference collection, Level 2 (northeast corner)
St. Louis, the Fourth City, 1764-1909 by Walter b. Stevens
Call Number: Ref. F474 .S2 S846
Pius Library Reference collection, Level 2 (northeast corner).
This is Our Saint Louis by Harry M. Hagen
Call Number: Ref. F474 .S2 H15
Available in the Pius Library Reference collection, Level 2 (northeast corner).
St. Louis Then and Now by Elizabeth McNulty
Call Number: Ref. F474 .S243 M38 2000
Available in the Pius Library Reference collection, Level 2 (northeast corner).
Lion of the Valley: St. Louis, Missouri, 1764-1980 by James Neal Primm
Call Number: Ref. F474 .S257 P75
Available in the Pius Library Reference collection, Level 2 (northeast corner).
Beyond the Frontier by Frederick A. Hodes
Call Number: F474.S257 H63 2004
v.1. A history of St. Louis, to 1821
v. 2. Rising on the river: St. Louis 1822-1850, explosive growth from town to city

American National Biography Online
Find biographies of over 17,400 deceased men and women who made significant contributions to building the United States. This subscription provides for use by one person at a time.
Dictionary of Missouri Biography by Lawrence O. Christensen
Pius Reference, CT244 .D53 1999
In Her Place by Katharine T. Corbett
Call Number: Ref. HQ 1439 .S87 C67 1999
Available in the Pius Library Reference collection, Level 2 (northeast corner).
Movers and Shakers by Justin L. Faherty; David R. Brown; Mary Kimbrough; Verna G. Smith (Editor); Guin T. Stemmler (Editor)
Call Number: Ref. F474 .S253 F34 1992
Publication Date: 1992-06-01
Available in the Pius Library Reference collection, Level 2 (northeast corner).
The Book of St. Louisans: A Biographical Dictionary of Leading Living Men of the City of St. Louis and Vicinity by Albert Nelson Marquis, ed.
Call Number: Ref. F474 .S2 B691
Available in the Pius Library Reference collection, Level 2 (northeast corner).