Research Guides: St. Louis History: Primary Sources in Library Databases

St. Louis & Missouri Newspapers

St. Louis Post-Dispatch (ProQuest Historical Newspapers)

1874-2003. Search the historical St. Louis Post-Dispatch.
St. Louis Post-Dispatch (Nexis Uni)

1989-present. Access to articles in Nexis Uni for local and regional news. For late-breaking news and articles available only on their Web site, please visit https://www.stltoday.com/
Nineteenth Century U.S. Newspapers
19th Century newspapers from cities and rural areas throughout the United States. Includes several St. Louis and Missouri newspapers.
Kansas City Call (ProQuest Historical Newspapers)
1919-2010. Coverage focuses on the African American community in Kansas City, Missouri and includes topics such as civil rights, voter registration, school segregation, and urban development.

Missouri Newspapers (Missouri Digital Heritage)
Archives of several Missouri Newspapers. Primarily covers the mid to late 19th century, but there is some coverage of the 20th century. Includes St. Louis newspapers.
Digital Collections (The State Historical Society of Missouri)
The State Historical Society of Missouri Digital Collections provide online access to several Missouri newspaper archives. Includes St. Louis newspapers.

American Historical Magazines and Journals

AAS Historical Periodicals Collection

Provides digital access to 50 thematic series of American magazines and journals published between 1684 and 1912 and collected by the American Antiquarian Society. These periodicals document the life of America's people from the Colonial Era through the Civil War and Reconstruction.

Research Tip

When searching primary source library databases, make sure you're searching for keywords and phrases that were used during the time period you're researching.