Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Theatre

Library Research Guide for Theatre Arts

General Information

The Columbia Encyclopedia of Modern Drama.
(Gabrielle H. Cody and Evert Sprinchorn, eds.  New York: Columbia University Press, 2007.)
Contains a little over 1400 articles by over 450 drama professionals. Covers a broad scope of subjects, includes cross-references.

International Dictionary of Theatre.
(Mark Hawkins-Dady, ed.  Chicago: St. James Press, 1992.)
Three-volume encyclopedia, includes entries on individual actors, designers, directors, plays, and playwrights, from around the world.

Masterplots II: Drama Series.
Lvl 4 West - PN6112.5 .M37 2004
(Frank N. Magill, ed.   Pasadena, CA: Salem Press, 2004.)
blank space
Provides descriptive information, plot-summaries, themes, devices, and critical contexts to over 300 20th-century works of drama.

The Oxford Encyclopedia of Theatre & Performance.
(Dennis Kennedy, ed.  New York: Oxford University Press, 2003.)
blank space
Includes over 4000 entries covering all time periods and various cultures. Longer entires provide bibliographies to further recommended sources.

The World Encyclopedia of Contemporary Theatre.
(Don Rubin, ed.  New York: Routledge, 1994-2000.)
blank space
6-volume set covering all apsects of theatre in the late 20th-century. Final volume in the set provides extensive bibliography.