3c61a8dfa"> Skip to main content

Art History

Art History Library Research Guide

Reference Sources

Reference sources consist of research guides, bibliographies, biographies, dictionaries, and encyclopedias to help you with your research.  Oftentimes, these are great places to start your research as they will guide you to recommended and vetted resources.  Here are a few recommended reference sources to use in Pius Library or online.

Oxford Art OnlineOnline
This is a combination of numerous traditional reference sources, Grove Dictionary of Art, Benezit Dictionary of Artists, The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms, Encyclopedia of Aesthetics, and The Oxford Companion to Western Art.  You can access this online through the libraries’ website.  Look for the database, Oxford Art Online.

Encyclopedia of World ArtN31 .E4833 (Oversized)
Encyclopedia set containing entries on many aspects of art from all cultures. Offers brief entries and recommended further readings

Index to Artistic BiographyRef. N40 .H38
Provides references to biographical sources on artists. Primarily geared towards European, American, and Modern artists.

Art Books: A Basic Bibliography of Monographs on ArtistsRef N40. F73 1997
Source for locating books published on individual artists.

Guide to the Literature of Art HistoryN380 .M374 2005
A guide to reference research items concerned with art history. Each entry is annotated.

Research Guide to the History of Western ArtN380 .K56 1982
Includes an annotated list of major reference works for art historical research.