Research Guides: Social Work Guide: Find articles in a database

Databases for Social Work

Social Services Abstracts
1980-present. Covers over 1400 journals in social services. Includes most journals indexed in Social Work Abstracts, plus more international coverage. *MSW Students start here!*
APA PsycINFO (EBSCO)
Produced by the American Psychological Assn. Covers professional and academic literature in Psychology and other behavioral and social sciences. Especially useful for clinical social work research topics and good starting point for ABA topics.
PubMed @ SLU
1809-present. Produced by the National Library of Medicine. The major database for the medical literature. The database is freely available but using this link enables access to subscription-based journal content.
SLUth - Search Plus
Find journal articles across all disciplines, plus newspaper articles, books, ebooks and more! Databases searched in SLUth include: Social Work Abstracts, Academic Search Complete, Ageline, CINHAL, Criminal Justice Abstracts, Education Source, ERIC, and more.

CINAHL Plus with Full Text
Covers over 3,000 journals in nursing and allied health.
Criminal Justice Abstracts
1910-present. Covers the most important sources in criminal justice. Includes criminal law and procedure, corrections and prisons, and police and policing.
Education Source
1929-present. This major education database indexes and abstracts thousands of journals and hundreds of books relating to all aspects of education from pre-K through higher education.
ERIC (EBSCOhost)
The major database for education which is sponsored by the U.S. Department of Education. Useful for school social work, after school programs, and other education related topics.
HaPI: Health & Psychosocial Instruments

1916-present/Mainly 1985-present. A major database for locating information on many types of measurement instruments such as questionnaires, rating scales, interview forms, tests, and more.

National Criminal Justice System Reference System
Well organized repository of information on a variety of criminal justice topics including juvenile courts, mental health courts, drug courts, re-entry, victims rights, etc. Includes publications and statistics.

PAIS Index
Produced by the Public Affairs Information Service. Covers economic, political and social issues.
PTSDpubs
Index to the the worldwide literature on post-traumatic stress disorder (PTSD) and other mental-health consequences of exposure to traumatic events." Produced by the National Center for PTSD.
Social Work Abstracts
Covers over 450 journals in social work and human services. Produced by NASW. (Note: this database only has 8 simultaneous users, but the content is also searched in SLUth Search Plus)
Sociological Abstracts
1952-present. Abstracts and indexes the international literature in sociology and related social and behavioral science disciplines.
Women's Studies International
Multidisciplinary database for women's studies topics.1972-present (with selected earlier content.)

Cochrane Library: Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews (CDSR)
Cochrane Reviews are systematic reviews of primary research in human health care and health policy, and are internationally recognized as the highest standard in evidence-based health care.

Campbell Systematic Reviews
Open access journal, under editorial control of the Campbell Collaboration, "an international research network that produces systematic reviews of the effects of social interventions." Read more about preparing systematic reviews and the Campbell Collaboration's requirements on their authors page.

Dissertations & Theses Global
Dissertations can be a source of information about very new areas of research that have not reported in scholarly journals yet. They also tend to include comprehensive literature reviews.
Google Scholar @ SLU
Broad-based search. Less sophisticated searching options than many of the SLU subscription databases. Good source for citation mapping.
To see the Find It @ SLU link when searching Google Scholar off-campus:
- Sign in to Google Scholar.
- Click Settings.
- Click Library Links
- Search for “Saint Louis University”
- Select “Find It @ SLU”
- Click Save
Scopus
Some 1823-present. Search one of the largest abstract and citation databases for scholarly materials on science, engineering, technology, and medicine along with a growing collection of social sciences and humanities. A citation database similar to Social Science Citation Index/Web of Science.
Web of Science
1990-present. WOS consists of three databases: Arts & Humanities Citation Index, Social Sciences Citation Index, and Science Citation Index Expanded, all of which are citation indexes. Together these index thousands of scholarly research journals from hundreds of disciplines.

All SLU databases

Access complete list of over 400 databases provided by SLU.

Access All SLU databases

Where is my article?

If the article is in the database, you will see one of these icons below the citation. Just click on the icon to get to the article..

Otherwise you will use the button

This button provides links from library databases to online full text articles, when available. It also helps you search for a print version of the article in the SLU Libraries Catalog. If an article isn't available online or in print, you may request it via ILLiad Interlibrary Loan.

HINT: Make sure your popup blocker is turned off if you are using the Internet Explorer browser.

Having trouble?

Why can't you find any articles?

There might be a better database for your topic than the ones you have tried.

Using different search terms might give you better results.

Save time! Call Rebecca Hyde at 977-3106 or email me at rebecca.hyde@slu.edu. We can also meet in person, just set up an appointment.