Research Guides: Civil Engineering: Databases and Links

General Databases and Links

Below are some of are largest and best STEM databases. If you need to do a broad or comprehensive search these are good places to start.

AccessScience This link opens in a new window
Search articles from the most recent edition of McGraw-Hill Encyclopedia of Science & Technology, the former McGraw-Hill Yearbooks of Science and Technology, and definitions from McGraw-Hill Dictionary of Science & Technology. This resource has one simultaneous user.
Applied Science & Technology Full Text This link opens in a new window
1983-present. Search articles, interviews, meetings, conferences, exhibitions, and new product reviews on the subjects of engineering, mathematics, physics, and computer technology.
IEEE Xplore This link opens in a new window
Search the premier database for research in electrical engineering, electronics, computer science and related disciplines for articles, proceedings, and standards.
Scopus This link opens in a new window
Some 1788-present. Search one of the largest abstract and citation databases for materials on science, engineering, technology, and medicine along with some social sciences and humanities.
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
1990-present. Brings together Arts & Humanities Citation Index, Social Sciences Citation Index, Science Citation Index Expanded and the newer Emerging Sources Citation Index. Search thousands of research journals by topic or do a Cited Reference search.

Looking for Civil Engineering specific databases and links? These are great places to start.

Other good Civil Engineering specific databases can be found here by going to the library homepage. Here are the steps to find them:

ASCE Library Journals This link opens in a new window
Freely available online. Provides indexing and full-text access for journals published by the American Society of Civil Engineers (ASCE).
NTIS National Technical Reports Library (NTRL) This link opens in a new window
Freely available online. 1921-present. Search scientific, technical, engineering, and business-related research reports sponsored by the U.S. government and international sources but carried out by research centers, universities, and organizations.
TRID: The TRIS and ITRD Database This link opens in a new window
Freely available online. 1960s-present. TRID combines the US Transportation Research Information Services database with the worldwide International Transport Research Documentation database to locate transportation information.