Research Guides: Clinical Clerkship E-resources: Residency Resources

Resources on choosing a speciality or residency

Prepare for Your Residency Interview
from AAFP
Prepare for Residency
From the AAMC
Preparing for Residency
from the AMA
How do I select the best residency program for my specialty
Am. College of Surgeons
Choosing a medical specialty
AMA

Choosing a Medical Speciality
ISBN: 9780071790284
First Aid for the Match
ISBN: 9780071736350
International Medical Graduate and the United States Medical Residency Application by Raghav Govindarajan (Editor); Sachin M. Bhagavan (Editor); Swathi Beladakere Ramaswamy (Editor)
ISBN: 9783030310448
Publication Date: 2020-02-05

Organizations Online

American Board of Medical Specialties
Directory of Web sites for the various medical speciality societies
American Medical Association
Association of American Medical Colleges
Great resource for in depth information on medical specialities, residency programs and many other useful tools
ERAS
Electronic Residency Application Service (ERAS) is a service that transmits applications, letters of recommendation (LoRs), Medical Student Performance Evaluations (MSPEs), medical school transcripts, USMLE transcripts, COMLEX transcripts, and other supporting credentials from you and your designated dean's office to program directors using the Internet.
FREIDA Online
FREIDA Online is a database with over 10,000 graduate medical education programs accredited by the Accreditation Council for Graduate Medical Education.
National Residency Matching Progarm

Drug Resources

AHFS Drug Information
The mission of AHFS Drug Information® (AHFS DI®) is to provide an evidence-based foundation for safe and effective drug therapy. AHFS DI® is a collection of drug monographs kept current by ongoing electronic updates (e.g., AHFSfirstReleases™, MedWatch notices, http://www.ahfsdruginformation.com) and by a revised master print volume issued each year.
Clinical Key Drug Search
Clinical Key drug information is provided by Gold Standard. It includes generic and brand name drugs, investigational medications, neutraceuticals, and nutritional products.
Access Medicine Drug Search
An integrated drug database providing critical information on medication indications, dosages, contraindications, and drug classes, as well as patient handouts in English and Spanish.

Keeping Current

NEJM Journal Watch
From the publishers of the New England Journal of Medicine to help physicians and allied heath professionals save time and stay informed by providing brief, clearly written, clinically focused perspectives on the medical developments that affect practice. Some content requires a subscription for access.
Daily Literature Reports
High-Impact reports on the latest medical studies. All curated and written by practicing physicians and health professionals. Provided by Access Medicine.
more...less...
2 Minute Medicine® was created by Marc D. Succi, MD, a physician at Harvard Medical School and Massachusetts General Hospital, to fill the need for professional curation and accurate reporting of the medical literature milieu. Originally consisting of short study summaries, the organization was built and scaled after realizing that the need for objective, quality-rated and concise medical reporting spanned far beyond the quad.
Medscape
Latest news and commentary on current issues in medicine from WebMD. More about Medscape
Medical News Today
"Medical News Today brings you hourly health news from well-regarded sources such as JAMA, BMJ, Lancet, BMA, plus articles written by our own team. Our archive contains over 150,000 news articles."
Practice Update
The experts at PracticeUpdate sort through volumes of healthcare content, hand-selecting information that is most relevant to healthcare professionals within their specialties. Curated by physician editors and world-renowned specialists, PracticeUpdate provides professionals with easy access information they value most in patient care.
QxMD Read
App that lets you follow Table of Contents for journals indexed in MEDLINE
see https://qxmd.com/read-by-qxmd
https://read.qxmd.com/