Research Guides: Human Resources Management (HRM): Articles

Databases

You will be able to find a multitude of articles on topics related to human resources management by using SLU's online databases. Depending on your specific topic, you will want to combine keywords and phrases to find articles that discuss your subject. You can also limit by date range so that you find only recent articles.

Although every database operates by the same basic principles, each interface is unique and the vocabulary used to index articles might be slightly different, so it may require a little trial and error to create a really successful search. Please consult the Business Librarian if you need help devising a search strategy for a particular research topic.

Business Source Premier This link opens in a new window
Updated with new content daily. Indexes and abstracts 350 of the most important scholarly business journals. In addition, it includes indexing, abstracting and full text for thousands of peer-reviewed journals, trade journals and business magazines, country economic reports, industry reports and yearbooks and some market research reports.
Business Insights: Global This link opens in a new window
Indexes approximately 1,000 business journals and trade/industry publications as well as 200,000 full-text company directory profiles and more than 50,000 full-text investment reports. Also includes brief industry profiles, company histories, company financial statements, performance ratings, rankings, product and brand listings and association listings.
ABI/INFORM Collection This link opens in a new window
Includes ABI/INFORM Global, ABI/INFORM Trade and Industry and ABI/INFORM Dateline. Indexes and abstracts thousands of journals, trade publications, and regional and local business publications in all areas of business and management, many with an international focus. Some full text is available for many of the publications. This database is part of the Brepolis Latin Complete database collection. 3 simultaneous users.
APA PsycINFO (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Search the index and abstracts in this database for the professional and academic literature of psychology and related disciplines. Content includes journal articles, books, book chapters, and dissertations in English. Find full text for search results using the Find It @ SLU button.
Note: SLU Libraries' access to PsycINFO on OVID ended on 10/1/2024. Access will remain on EBSCOhost.
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Provides access to full-text of local, national, and international news sources; business, financial, and company information; legal sources for state and federal levels.

Selected Journals

SLU's libraries provide online access to a variety of journals related to human resources management, a few of which are highlighted below.

Suggested Keywords for Research in Human Resources Management

Before you begin searching library databases, it can be extremely helpful to spend a few moments brainstorming keywords and phrases that describe your topic and thinking about how to combine them in your search.

A partial list of phrases and keyword combinations often associated with Human Resources Management is below:

Human resources
Personnel management
Human capital
Talent
Coaching
Mentoring
Training
Employee development
Employee motivation
Career development
Recruitment
Performance evaluation
Performance appraisal
Benefits administration
Compensation
Organizational culture
Turnover
Diversity in the workplace
Job satisfaction