Research Guides: Social Work Policy & Practice: Finding research articles on policy

Databases

Social Services Abstracts
1980-present. Indexes and abstracts over 1,000 journals and magazines in the social services in addition to social work dissertations….more.
PAIS Index
Produced by the Public Affairs Information Service. Covers economic, political and social issues.
Sociological Abstracts
1952-present. Abstracts and indexes the international literature in sociology and related social and behavioral science disciplines. Covers journals, book, book chapters, dissertations, and conference papers.
Social Work Abstracts
Produced by NASW. Covers over 450 journals in social work and human services.
CINAHL Plus with Full Text
Overs over 3000 journals in the nursing and allied health fields.
Ageline Database
Produced by American Assn of Retired Persons (AARP). Covers interdisciplinary literature on aging.
MEDLINE (1996 - present)
Produced by the National Library of Medicine. other date ranges available from database list
NCJRS Abstracts Database
National Criminal Justice Reference Service (NCJRS) is a federally funded resource offering justice and substance abuse information to support research, policy, and program development worldwide.
Alcohol Studies Database
Produced by the Center of Alcohol Studies at Rutgers University.
ERIC (EBSCOhost)
Sponsored by the U.S. Dept. of Education

If you looking for articles that assess the efficacy or efficiency of a program or policy, try the following search strategy.

Combine a term that describes your program or policy (e.g. homelessness) with one of the following terms: