Research Guides: Chinese Resources: Home

Introduction

您好!

This guide is for students who study Chinese language or for students who want to read the materials in Chinese.

Please contact me if you have any information needs related to Chinese language learning and Chinese culture.

For students, I can:

Tell you about library services
Answer your questions
Meet with you individually or in a group to hash out your topic or discuss research strategies
Recommend the best databases to search for your research topic

For faculty, I can:

Purchase books and other materials needed for your research
Analyze library collection in your subject areas
Introduce your students to research tools and strategies via a workshop or instruction session
Discuss ways to best incorporate research skills and library materials into your class assignments
Meet with your students individually
Tell you about library services
Act as a liaison communicating the department's concerns and needs to library administration

Chinese Books in Library

Oxford Chinese Dictionary by Oxford Oxford Languages
ISBN: 9780199207619
Publication Date: 2010-09-01
By far the largest and most up-to-date single-volume English-Chinese and Chinese-English dictionary available and endorsed by academics worldwide, the Oxford Chinese Dictionary has been designed both for English speakers learning Mandarin Chinese and Mandarin Chinese speakers learning English.It has been produced using the latest lexicographic methods and the unique dictionary resources of Oxford University Press in Oxford and Foreign Language Teaching and Research Press in Beijing, together with an international body of expert advisors.The Oxford Chinese Dictionary contains over 300,000 words and phrases and 370,000 translations, including the latest vocabulary from computing, business, the media, and the arts, and tens of thousands of example phrases illustrating key points of construction and usage. There are over 300 culturalnotes giving essential information about many aspects of life and culture in the Chinese- and English-speaking worlds. The dictionary is based throughout on corpus research for both English and Chinese, providing up-to-date evidence on real language. The English is based on the Oxford EnglishCorpus, and the Chinese draws on the LIVAC corpus from the City University of Hong Kong.Extensive supplementary material includes sample letters and emails, guides to telephoning and text messaging in both Chinese and English, chronologies of Chinese history and culture, and features on particularly difficult aspects of the Chinese language, such as kinship terms and measure words.There are also over 50 pages of lexical and usage notes which contain helpful extra information about Chinese and English.The organization and layout have been designed for maximum clarity and accessibility. All Chinese headwords and compounds are shown with Pinyin transcriptions, so that the learner of Chinese can pronounce each one correctly. Chinese headwords are given in Simplified Chinese characters, butTraditional Chinese character versions are also given in brackets after the headwords when they differ from the Simplified form. All the English headwords are also shown with phonetics, so that the learner of English can pronounce each one correctly. The Chinese-English section of the dictionary isorganised alphabetically by Pinyin and there is also a radical index which allows you to look up a character without knowing its Pinyin form.12 months' access to Oxford's online dictionary service - Oxford Language Dictionaries Online* - is included with this book. The site is regularly updated with the latest new words and meanings from Oxford's language research programme, the Oxford Languages Tracker. You can also hear audiopronunciations and improve your language skills with online cultural notes, guides to writing, and much more.