Transatlantic Literature 1500-1800

May 16, 1799 - Dec 12, 1801

Apr 1, 1779 - Aug 29, 1781

Jan 1, 1795 - May 22, 1906

May 18, 1790 - Dec 24, 1799

Jan 2, 1792 - Dec 27, 1904

Mar 7, 1795 - Nov 12, 1962

Oct 14, 1783 - May 3, 1786

Jan 3, 1778 - Nov 29, 1828

Jan 1, 1785 - Nov 7, 1795

Jan 2, 1799 - Dec 30, 1801

Jan 12, 1792 - Dec 20, 1809

May 3, 1799 - Oct 16, 1816

Jun 9, 1774 - Apr 28, 1809

Dec 15, 1798 - Apr 13, 1799

June 26, 1775-December 9, 1776

1720-1723

Reprint of the Tatler (1709-1711).

Reproduction of the Spectator (1711-1712).

1731-1750

1758-1778

1757-1777

1665-present. Archive Search.

Collection of Web sites related to the history of the Atlantic world. Includes links to many primary source Web sites.

Exhibit from the National Museum of American History. Includes artifacts from the Smithsonian's collection.

Library of Congress collection of manuscripts and published maps. "Many of these maps reflect the European Age of Discoveries, dating from the late 15th century to the 17th century." 18th and 19th century maps are also included.

This Library of Congress exhibition includes "rare maps, documents, paintings, prints, and artifacts" related to the exploration of early America.

Library of Congress collection of "253 published narratives by Americans and foreign visitors recounting their travels in the colonies and the United States and their observations and opinions about American peoples, places, and society from about 1750 to 1920."

This Library of Congress collection includes "proclamations, advertisements, blank forms, programs, election tickets, catalogs, clippings, timetables, and menus. They capture the everyday activities of ordinary people who participated in the events of nation-building and experienced the growth of the nation from the American Revolution through the Industrial Revolution up to present day."

"Images of colonial North and South America from books, manuscripts, and broadsides" in the Brown University collection.

This database includes "information on almost 35,000 slaving voyages that forcibly embarked over 10 million Africans for transport to the Americas between the sixteenth and nineteenth centuries."

"A series of letters spanning between the January of 1759 and October of 1765. A six-year correspondence between Timothy Fitch, a Medford resident, and an employee of Fitch named Peter Gwinn. The letters are thus a direct and local link to the trafficking and sale of human beings from Africa."

Collection of 1,280 images of the Atlantic slave trade and slave life in the Americas.

The New York Public Library site includes information about the transatlantic slave trade as well as primary source images, maps, and texts.

Library of Congress material associated with the American Revolution, including "manuscripts, broadsides, government documents, books, and maps."

Primary Source documents related to the American Revolution from the Avalon Project at the Yale Law Library.

Primary source documents related to the American Revolution from the Internet History Sourcebooks Project at Fordham University.