Skip to Main Content

Medieval Bible: References

Library and internet materials for research on aspects of the medieval Bible.

Bibliographies and Indices

Biblioteca bíblica ibérica medieval by Klaus Reinhardt, Horacio Santiago-Otero
Call Number: BS475.2 .R45 1986
Repertorium Biblicum Medii Aevi by Friedrich Stegmüller
Call Number: BS485 .S74 1950
La Bible au moyen âge : bibliographie by André Vernet
Call Number: Z7770 .V47 1989
Bibliografia della Bibbia Amiatina, 1990-1999 by Valentina Longo, Sabina Magrini, Marco Palma
Call Number: Z7771.L2 B53 2000
Book and Verse: a guide to Middle English biblical literature / by James H. Morey
Call Number: PR275.B5 M67 2000
A catalogue of early medieval Hiberno-Latin biblical commentaries by J. F. Kelly
Call Number: BS447.5.I73 K45 1988
Bibliographie der deutschen Predigt des Mittelalters : veröffentlichte Predigten by Karin Morvay und Dagmar Grube
Call Number: BV4244 .M67
Judaism and Christianity : a guide to the reference literature by Edward D. Starkey.
Call Number: BM45 .S78 1991

Encyclopedias and Dictionaries

Early Medieval Christianities, C. 600-C. 1100 by Thomas F. X. Noble (Editor); Julia M. H. Smith (Editor)
Call Number: BR252 .E27 2008
The Cambridge history of the Bible.
Call Number: BS445 .C26
The New Cambridge History of the Bible by James Carleton Paget (Editor); Joachim Schaper (Editor)
Call Number: BS445 .N49 2012
The Oxford Handbook of the Reception History of the Bible by Michael Lieb (Editor); Emma Mason (Editor); Jonathan Roberts (Editor)
The Oxford Guide to People and Places of the Bible by Michael D. Coogan (Editor); Bruce M. Metzger (Editor)
Call Number: BS570 .O94 2001
Encyclopedia of the Bible and its reception by Hans-Josef Klauck (Editor)
Call Number: BS440 .E54 2009
The Oxford companion to the Bible [electronic resource] by Bruce M. Metzger and Michael D. Coogan (Editors)
The Wycliffe Bible encyclopedia by Charles F. Pfeiffer, Howard F. Vos, John Rea(Editors)
Call Number: BS440 .W92 1975
Dictionary of Bible personal names by H. H. Rowley
Call Number: BS570 .R6 1968

Overview

Biblia Pauperurm, British Library King's 5, fol. 28

Surveys

The Oxford Illustrated History of the Bible by John Rogerson (Editor)
Call Number: BS445 .O94 2001
An Introduction to the New Testament Manuscripts and Their Texts by D. C. Parker
Call Number: BS1904.5 .P37 2008
The Cambridge Companion to the Bible by Bruce Chilton (Editor); Howard Clark Kee; Eric M. Meyers; John Rogerson; Anthony J. Saldarini; Amy-Jill Levine
Call Number: BS475.3 .C26 2008
The Complete Bible Handbook by John Bowker; Donald C. Kraus
Call Number: BS475.2 .B69 1998
The Book: a history of the Bible by Christopher de Hamel
Call Number: BS445 .D44 2001