Research Guides: Medieval Bible: Manuscripts and Rare Books

Overview

VFL Bible Manuscripts
VFL Commentary Manuscripts
Printed Bibles (Rare Books Room)
Catalogs
Manuscript Databases
Glossed Bibles

Catalogs

Bibles imprimées du XVe au XVIIIe siècle conservées à Paris : catalogue collectif by Martine Delaveau et Denise Hillard (Editors))
Call Number: Z7770 .B45 2002
The Bibles in the Caxton Exhibition, MDCCCLXXVII, or, A bibliographical description of nearly one thousand representative Bibles : in various languages, chronologically arranged from the first Bible printed by Gutenberg in 1450-1456 to the last Bible prin by Henry Stevens.
Call Number: Z7770 .S84 1878
The aristocratic psalters in Byzantium by Anthony Cutler
Call Number: ND3357.P8 C88 1984
Located in Pius Spec Coll VFL Ref
A catalogue of early medieval Hiberno-Latin biblical commentaries by J. F. Kelly
Call Number: BS447.5.I73 K45 1988
Biblioteca bíblica ibérica medieval by Klaus Reinhardt, Horacio Santiago-Otero
Call Number: BS475.2 .R45 1986
Homéliaires liturgiques médiévaux : analyse de manuscrits by Réginald Grégoire
Call Number: BV4207 .G75 1980
Before the King James Bible by Laura Light, Sandra Hindman
Call Number: Z7771.M3 L54 2012
The Evolution of the English Bible[electronic resource] : from papyri to King James by Kathryn L. Beam; Traianos Gagos
Call Number: BS445 .E96 1997
Publication Date: 1998-01-15
Provides a guided tour of the evolution of biblical text and images over the course of sixteen centuries. Based on rare materials in the Special Collections Library of the University of Michigan. Contains several hundred images that trace the roots of the King James Bible, showing both its direct ancestors and other, related religious works dating from 119-1611CE.
Les psautiers : manuscrits latins des bibliothèques publiques de France by V. Leroquais
Call Number: Z6611.L76 L47 1940
Repertorium der lateinischen Sermones des Mittelalters für die Zeit von 1150-1350 by Johannes Baptist Schneyer
Call Number: B720 .B4 Bd. 43

Printed Bibles (Rare Books Room)

Bible. Acts. Latin. Vulgate. 1454.
Call Number: BS75 1454 fol. inc.
Comprises leaf 291 of volume 2, containing Acts of the Apostles, chapter X, verse 16 to chapter XII, verse 2.
Bible. Latin. Vulgate. 1514.
Call Number: BS75 1514 8vo
Liber Bibliae moralis.[1517] by Pierre Bersuire
Call Number: BS485 .B47 1517 fol.
[Bible][1522] by Andreas Cratander
Call Number: 1522.2 Bible
Bible. Gospels. Latin. 1524.
Call Number: 1524.2 Bible
[Psalms][1537]
Call Number: 1537.2 Bible: Psalms
Bible. N.T. Epistles of Paul. [1537]
Call Number: 1537.2 Paulus
Bible [1561]
Call Number: 1561.2 Bible
Bible. New Testament Latin. Vulgate. 1564
Call Number: 1564.1 New Testament
Bible. Latin. 1567.
Call Number: Accession 257
Bible. New Testament English. Rheims. 1582.
Call Number: BS2080 1582 4to
Translated from the Vulgate. With the Old Testament published at Douai in 1609-10 it forms the first edition of the Catholic version commonly called the Douai Bible.

Biblia Latina, 13th century

University of Otego, New Zeland

VFL Commentary Manuscripts

[Innocentii III Commentarius in septem Psalmos poenitentiales]
Call Number: BAV MSS MICROFILM 8
Vatican City, Biblioteca apostolica vaticana, Cod. Vat. lat. 699.
[Alberti Magni Commentarii in complures Veteris Testamenti libros]
Call Number: BAV MSS MICROFILM 6
Vatican City, Biblioteca apostolica vaticana, Cod. Vat. lat. 713.
[S. Thomae Aquinatis In S. Pauli Epistulas expositio]
Call Number: BAV MSS MICROFILM 37
Vatican City, Biblioteca Apostolica Vaticana, Cod. Vat. lat. 200.
In Epistolam diui Pauli ad Romanos commentarii : De natura & gratia ad sanctum Concilium tridentium ; cum Apologia contra reverendum episcopum Catharinum. by Domingo de Soto
Call Number: Toulouse B.383.02 fol.
Publication Date: 1550.
Located in Pius Spec Coll Rare Bks
Elucidatio in omnes Psalmos by Franciscus Tittlemans
Call Number: BS1429 .T58 1540 fol
Publication Date: 1540
Located in Pius Spec Coll Rare Bks
Additional Commentaries

Manuscript Databases

VFL Database
Database that locates specific manuscripts by Roll number for study of the VFL microfilm collection.
Biblioteca apostolica vaticana
Vatican Library manuscripts catalog
CORSAIR
Online catalog of the Morgan Library
Mandragore, base des manuscrits enluminés de la BnF
Find and view descriptions and images of manuscripts in the Bibliotheque nationale de France
British Library Catalogue of Illuminated Manuscripts
Find and view descriptions and images of medieval and Renaissance manuscripts in the British Library.
Biblioteca Nacional de Espana
Manuscritos
Bayerische Staatsbibliothek
Digitized manuscripts in German state libraries.
Digital Scriptorium
Digital Scriptorium is a growing consortium of American libraries and museums committed to free online access to their collections of pre-modern manuscripts.
more...less...
Our website unites scattered resources from many institutions into a national digital platform for teaching and scholarly research. It serves to connect an international user community to multiple repositories by means of a digital union catalog with sample images and searchable metadata.
Catalogue of Digitized Medieval Manuscripts
This site was designed to enable users to find fully digitized manuscripts currently available on the web.
The Digital Walters
Walters Art Museum, Baltimore

Glossed Bibles

Biblia Latina cum glossa ordinaria : facsimile reprint of the editio Princeps Adolph Rusch of Strassburg 1480/81
Call Number: BS75 1480a
[Liber Genesis cum Walafridi Strabi glossa ordinaria et Anselmi Laudunensis glossa interlineari]
Call Number: BAV MSS MICROFILM 17
Publication Date: [between 1200 and 1299]
Vatican City, Biblioteca apostolica vaticana, Cod. Vat. lat. 52.
Prima [-sexta] pars biblie cum glosa ordinaria et expositione lyre litterali et morali [1498]
Call Number: MICROFILM 7276
[Glossaria et glossae complura] [Italy, 908]
Call Number: BAV MSS MICROFILM 6984
fols. 83v-161v: Glossarium Biblicum.

Vatican City, Biblioteca apostolica vaticana, Cod. Vat. lat. 1469.

VFL Bible Manuscripts

Bible. Latin. Vulgate (Ms. Pius XII Memorial Library. VFL MS 56)
Call Number: VFL MS 056
Publication Date: [Paris], [ca. 1220]
St. Louis, Saint Louis University, Pius XII Memorial Library, Special Collections, VFL MS 56.
Bible. Latin. Ms. Pius XII Memorial Library. VFL MS 60.
Call Number: VFL MS 060
Publication Date: [Bologna], [ca. 1300].
St. Louis, Saint Louis University, Pius XII Memorial Library, Special Collections, VFL MS 60.
Bible. Psalms. Vulgate. Selections. (Ms. Pius XII Memorial Library. VFL MS 055)
Call Number: VFL MS 055
Publication Date: [Spain], [15--].
St. Louis, Saint Louis University, Pius XII Memorial Library, Special Collections, VFL MS 55.
La Bibbia Amiatina [electronic resource] : riproduzione integrale su CD-ROM del manoscritto by Luigi G.G. Ricci
Call Number: ND3355.5.A45 B53 2000 CD-ROM
Leo Bible
Call Number: MICROFILM 8463
Biblioteca Apostolica Vaticana Reg. gr. 1

The manuscript is a Byzantine Greek Bible dated to the 10th century.
Biblia pauperum.
Call Number: MICROFILM 4159
Biblioteca Apostolica Vaticana Pal. lat. 871
Joshua roll
Call Number: BAV MSS MICROFILM 8333
Biblioteca Apostolica Vaticana Pal. gr. 431
Codex Vaticanus
Call Number: MICROFILM 8136-8138
Biblioteca apostolica vaticana. Vat. Gr. 1209.
Bible. Gospels. Latin. Barberini Gospels.
Call Number: BAV MSS MICROFILM 3648
Vatican City, Biblioteca apostolica vaticana, Cod. Barb. lat. 570.
Les Bíblies de Ripoll
Call Number: MICROFILM 10186
Biblioteca Apostolica Vaticana Vat Lat 5729
Bible. Latin. Biblioteca apostolica vaticana. Manuscript.
Call Number: BAV MSS MICROFILM 6471
Vatican City, Biblioteca apostolica vaticana, Cod. Chig. O. IV. 42.
Bible. Latin. Biblioteca apostolica vaticana. Manuscript.
Call Number: BAV MSS MICROFILM 2603
Vatican City, Biblioteca apostolica vaticana, Cod. Ross. 255.
Bible. Latin. Biblioteca apostolica vaticana. Manuscript.
Call Number: BAV MSS MICROFILM 11856
Vatican City, Biblioteca apostolica vaticana, Cod. Vat. lat. 20.
Bible. Latin. Biblioteca apostolica vaticana. Manuscript
Call Number: BAV MSS MICROFILM 2632
Vatican City, Biblioteca apostolica vaticana, Cod. Ross. 254.
Bible. Latin. Biblioteca apostolica vaticana. Manuscript.
Call Number: BAV MSS MICROFILM 10185
Vatican City, Biblioteca apostolica vaticana, Cod. Vat. lat. 21.
Bible. Latin. Bibbia di Federico da Montefeltro.
Call Number: BAV MSS MICROFILM 1737 v.1 , BAV MSS MICROFILM 1359 v.2
Vatican City, Biblioteca apostolica vaticana, Cod. Urb. lat. 1-2.