Medieval Bible: Websites/Databases

The Biblia medieval website is a collection of interactive electronic resources for the study of an important corpus of medieval Spanish texts: the Old Spanish translations of the Bible.

Website and access to the journal Biblical Archaeology Review

A selection of biblical manuscripts held in the British Library, divided chronologically into five sections.

The Codex Gigas (Giant Books), aka the Devil’s Bible, at the National Library in Stockholm is reputed to be the largest surviving European manuscript.

The Codex Sinaiticus Project is an international collaboration to reunite the entire manuscript in digital form and make it accessible to a global audience for the first time.

An Electronic Database of Medieval Commentators
on Aristotle and Peter Lombard's Sentences

Gloses et commentaires de la Bible au Moyen Âge--Portail de ressources numériques

Exhibition at the Smithsonian's Arthur M. Sackler Gallery that assembles, for the first time, seventy of the most important biblical codices in the world

The Kennicott Bible is the most lavishly illuminated Hebrew Bible to survive from medieval Spain and combines Islamic, Christian, and popular motifs.

Parallel texts Vulgate and English

Freely available database built from Stegmüller's 11 volume index

Online Exhibit by the Library of Congress

British Library exhibition of Jewish, Christian and Islamic holy books, including some of the world's most precious Hebrew and Christian Bibles and Qur'ans, plus Hindu, Buddhist and Zoroastrian texts

In 1998, Saint John's Abbey and University commissioned renowned calligrapher Donald Jackson to produce a hand-written, hand-illuminated Bible.

Walters Art Museum, Baltimore

Find and view descriptions and images of the Morgan Picture Bible, often described as the "Crusader" Bible.

Exhibition commemorating the 400th anniversary of the printing of this most influential of all English books, the King James Bible.

Digitized manuscripts in German state libraries.

Vatican Library manuscripts catalog

Database of manuscripts digitized by the Vatican Library

Manuscritos

From 2001 to 2021 Heidelberg University Library worked with librarians from the Vatican to complete a virtual reconstruction of the 'mother of all libraries.' Contains digitized manuscripts in Latin, Greek, Hebrew, and other languages, now located in the Vatican libraries, as well as German manuscripts held at Heidelberg.

Find and view descriptions and images of medieval and Renaissance manuscripts in the British Library. Offline since the cyber attack of October 2023.

Online catalog of the Morgan Library

Digital Scriptorium is a growing consortium of American libraries and museums committed to free online access to their collections of pre-modern manuscripts.

Walters Art Museum, Baltimore

Database of Swiss Collections

Hosted by the Bibliothèque nationale de France (BnF) Gallica offers over 3 million digitized documents, including 43,780 manuscripts.

University of Pennsylvania

This online publication presents a corpus of more than 3,800 later medieval manuscripts illustrated in the Low Countries, compiled, maintained and updated in an electronic database (Microsoft Access) in 1997-2012.

Find and view descriptions and images of manuscripts in the Bibliotheque nationale de France

Fully digitized medieval manuscripts from various collections in Austria.

MANUS is a database containing catalogue descriptions and digital images of manuscripts, private papers and archives held by Italian public, private and ecclesiastical libraries

This interactive, web-based workspace is designed to support use and study of the manuscripts in the historic Parker Library at Corpus Christi College, Cambridge.

Use to search a manuscript on microfilm by Shelfmark. If the manuscript is in the collection, the database will display the Shelfmark and the number of the microfilm roll on which it is reproduced. If the manuscript also has a record in the SLU Libraries Catalog, the Shelfmark will link to that record in the catalog.

Christian Heritage Museum shares the oldest Bible in its collection, a handwritten Latin Bible, which uses the same version translated by St. Jerome.

Allegedly made from the skins of 160 donkeys, the Codex Gigas is the world's largest and most mysterious medieval manuscript.

Illuminated manuscripts from the J. Paul Getty Museum.

Dr. Stella Panayotova, Keeper of Manuscripts and Printed Books at the Fitzwilliam Museum, Cambridge, discusses the artwork in a 15th century Dutch family Bible. This bible was an exhibit at the "Medieval Imagination Exhibition" at the State Library of Victoria in 2008, which featured illuminated manuscripts from Cambridge in the UK, as well as from Australia and New Zealand.

An audio excerpt from a guest lecture in a class at the Pontifical Faculty of the Immaculate Conception at the Dominican House of Studies, Washington, D.C., October 26, 2010, by Father Timothy Bellamah, O.P.

The art director, Donald Jackson, talks about the first completely handwritten Bible commissioned in 500 years.