Skip to Main Content

Medieval Trade and Travel: Manuscripts and Rare Books

Library and internet resources about the medieval trade and travel from late antiquity to c. 1492

Overview

Manuscript Databases
Rare Printed Books
Manuscript facsimiles

Rare Printed Books

Historia del gran Tamorlan. by Ruy Gonzalez de Clavijo
Call Number: Accession 125

Located in Special Collections, Rare Books and Archives

Hans Schiltbergers Reisebuch. (Faksimiledruck d. Originalausg. Augsburg um 1476.)
Call Number: Z240 .G32 vol.3
Facsimile
Lib[r]o[r]um Francisci Petrarche imp[r]esso[r]um annotatio
Call Number: PQ4489 .A1 1503 fol.

Manuscripts Databases

VFL Database
Database that locates specific manuscripts by Roll number for study of the VFL microfilm collection.
Biblioteca apostolica vaticana
Vatican Library manuscripts catalog
CORSAIR
Online catalog of the Morgan Library
Mandragore, base des manuscrits enluminés de la BnF
Find and view descriptions and images of manuscripts in the Bibliotheque nationale de France
British Library Catalogue of Illuminated Manuscripts
Find and view descriptions and images of medieval and Renaissance manuscripts in the British Library.
Biblioteca Nacional de Espana
Manuscritos
Bayerische Staatsbibliothek
Digitized manuscripts in German state libraries.
Digital Scriptorium
Digital Scriptorium is a growing consortium of American libraries and museums committed to free online access to their collections of pre-modern manuscripts.
more...less...
Our website unites scattered resources from many institutions into a national digital platform for teaching and scholarly research. It serves to connect an international user community to multiple repositories by means of a digital union catalog with sample images and searchable metadata.
Catalogue of Digitized Medieval Manuscripts
This site was designed to enable users to find fully digitized manuscripts currently available on the web.

Marvels of the East

Bodleian Library, University of Oxford MS. Bodl. 614, ff. 39v-40r

Manuscript facsimiles

Located in the Special Collections, Vatican Film Library

The Book of John Mandeville by John Mandeville; Iain Macleod Higgins, ed.
Publication Date: 2011
Petrarch's Guide to the Holy Land by Francesco Petrarch; T. J. Cachey
Call Number: PQ4496.E29 I75 2002
facsimile edition of Cremona, Biblioteca statale, Deposito libreria civica, manuscript BB.1.2.5.
Itinerarium. German (Middle High German) by John Mandeville
Call Number: BAV MSS MICROFILM 2865
Vatican City, Biblioteca apostolica vaticana, Cod. Ross. 708.
A volume in the autograph of Yāqūt the geographer (574-626/1179-1229) : a brief description with a reproduction of the manuscript of the Tamām Faşīh al-kalām of Ibn Fāris.
Call Number: G93.Y37 A734 1951
The Travels of Sir John Mandeville : a manuscript in the British Library
Call Number: ND3399.M244 T7 1983
Reproduced from Add. Ms. 24189 in the British Library, London
[Bernardi de Rosergio Opera octo de laudibus B. Mariae Virginis] [microform]
Call Number: BAV MSS MICROFILM 109
Vatican City, Biblioteca apostolica vaticana, Cod. Vat. lat. 1023.
[Romances, travels, &c. in French] [microform]
Call Number: MSS MICROFILM 9958
London, British Library, Royal MS 19. D. I.
Marvels of the East [microform]
Call Number: MICROFILM 8620.4
Facsimiles: Vitellius A. xv, ff. 98b-106b ; Tiberius B.V., ff. 78b-87b ; Bodley 614, ff. 36-51.