It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Search across the following historical newspapers at one time: Chicago Defender (July 1909-1975), Chicago Tribune (1849-1994), St. Louis Post-Dispatch (1874-2003), and The New York Times (1851-2014)...more.
1665-2005. Provides indexing for magazines and journals back to 1665. This database pairs with Periodicals Archive Online (PAO) for its available full text in the social sciences and humanities....more.
1600-1925. Search platform that allows searching Nineteenth Collections Online, Eighteenth Century Collections Online, Making of Modern Law: Legal Treatises 1800-1926, The Making of Modern Law: Trials, 1600-1926, The Economist Historical Archive (1843-2011), The Times Digital Archive (1785-1985), and 19th Century U.S. Newspapers at the same time.
Archives Unbound consists of discrete, topically-focused digital collections of historical documents. SLU collections include: Federal Response to Radicalism in the 1960s, Federal Surveillance of African Americans, 1920-1984, Holocaust and the Concentration Camp Trials: Prosecution of Nazi War Crimes, International Women’s Periodicals, 1786-1933: Social and Political Issues,
The Black Liberation Army and the Program of Armed Struggle,
The Papers of Amiri Baraka, Poet Laureate of the Black Power Movement
This digital collection from the holdings of the American Antiquarian Society contains primary source American slavery and abolition materials in the form of over 3,500 printed books, pamphlets, graphics, and ephemera in full color....more.
This database brings together diverse primary source materials reflecting broad views across American history and culture from the 1700s and 1800s. Content includes newspapers, magazines, books, and county histories such as African American Newspapers, Godey’s Lady Book, and the Pennsylvania Gazette. Search across all content or select one of the collections....more.
This HeinOnline collection contains legal materials on slavery in the United States and the English-speaking world. It includes "every statute passed by every colony and state on slavery, every federal statute dealing with slavery, and all reported state and federal cases on slavery."....more.
1789-present. Congressional materials indexed (including selected full text) include U.S. legislative information such as congressional hearings, committee prints and reports, the U.S. Congressional Serial Set, American State Papers, Congressional Research Services (CRS) Reports and more. Full text of selected Executive Branch Documents (from 1789-1948) are also included. Full text of all Congressional Hearings and the U.S. Congressional Serial Set is included.
This digital version of the U.S. Congressional Serial Set contains U.S. Senate and House of Representatives reports, documents, and journals published between 1817 and 1994 (15th through 103rd Congresses).
Provides comprehensive legislative histories for most laws from 1929-2016, and selected earlier laws. Each legislative history includes the full-text of all documents created during the lawmaking process such as committee hearings and reports, excerpts from the Congressional Record, all version of the bill, and the final public law.
Courtesy of the Law Library, LLMC Digital Collections consist of digitized law materials from the Legislative, Judicial, and Executive Branches of the U.S. government, military law, some state law, and some common law abroad. This collection will continue to grow in breadth and depth as more law and other materials in the public domain are digitized.
When searching primary source library databases, make sure you're searching for keywords and phrases that were used during the time period you're researching.