Research Guides: CATH 3002: Catholic Thought & Culture in the Second Millennium: Home

Find Background Information

Oxford Art Online This link opens in a new window
This is a great place to start your art and architecture research. OAO has a combination of traditional reference sources, including Grove Dictionary of Art, Benezit Dictionary of Artists, The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms, Encyclopedia of Aesthetics, and The Oxford Companion to Western Art. Access is limited to 4-5 simultaneous users.
Index of Medieval Art This link opens in a new window
Images and descriptive data relating to works of art produced throughout the "Long Middle Ages," from early apostolic times until the sixteenth century. It includes approximately 100,000 images of Christian art along with mythological scenes, personifications, symbolic animals, and more from the art of western Europe, Byzantium, Coptic Egypt, Lebanon, Ethiopia, Syria, Armenia, and the Near East.
Oxford Music Online This link opens in a new window
Start your research on any music-related topic here. It's the gateway to Grove Music Online and includes access to The Oxford Dictionary of Music and The Oxford Companion to Music. Access is limited to 3 simultaneous users.
Gale eBooks This link opens in a new window
Search this ebook collection of encyclopedias and dictionaries to find background information on any topic.

The Routledge Handbook of Early Christian Art
Call Number: N7832 .R68 2018 (On Reserve - Pius Library Circulation Desk)
The Routledge Handbook of Early Christian Art surveys a broad spectrum of Christian art produced from the late second to the sixth centuries.
A Guide to Christian Art by Diane Apostolos-Cappadona
Call Number: N7830 .A66 2020
A one-volume introduction to and overview of Christian art, from its earliest history to the present day.
Sacred Power, Sacred Space: An Introduction to Christian Architecture and Worship
Call Number: NA4605 .K48 2008
The author's main concern is not the buildings themselves, but rather the dynamic character of Christianity and how church buildings shape and influence the religion.
Christian Art : A Very Short Introduction
Ebook. Christian images have a long history within the Western art tradition from the narrative and devotional works of the Medieval and Renaissance periods, to the radical new interpretations of the twenty-first century. This fascinating new book explores the changing nature of the representation of key themes and subjects found in Christian art.
The Oxford Dictionary of Christian Art and Architecture
Call Number: N7830 .M87 2013
Explains a wide range of terms used in the study of the history of Christian art and architecture including subjects, topics, themes, artists, works, movements, and buildings.
The Cambridge Guide to the Architecture of Christianity
Call Number: NA4800 .C36 2023 (Oversized - 5th Floor)
Offers a wide-ranging overview of one of the most important genres of Western architecture, from its origins in the Early Christian era to the present day.

Find Scholarly Journal Articles and Books

SLUth Search Plus
SLU Libraries Catalog

Search for scholarly (aka peer reviewed) journal articles and scholarly books using SLUth Search Plus. It searches more than 100 library databases, including Art Full Text, Arts & Humanities Citation Index, JSTOR, Project Muse, ATLA Religion Database, and the SLU Libraries Catalog.

If you're looking specifically for books and ebooks, you might prefer using the Saint Louis University Libraries' Catalog.

Look for books published by university presses and scholarly associations, written by authors with degrees and credentials in the field. Scholarly or academic books will also cite their sources and will have a lengthy list of references.

Find Presentation Materials

Oxford Art Online This link opens in a new window
Includes a combination of traditional reference sources, including Grove Dictionary of Art, Benezit Dictionary of Artists, The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms, Encyclopedia of Aesthetics, and The Oxford Companion to Western Art. Access is limited to 4-5 simultaneous users.
Index of Medieval Art This link opens in a new window
Images and descriptive data relating to works of art produced throughout the "Long Middle Ages," from early apostolic times until the sixteenth century. It includes approximately 100,000 images of Christian art along with mythological scenes, personifications, symbolic animals, and more from the art of western Europe, Byzantium, Coptic Egypt, Lebanon, Ethiopia, Syria, Armenia, and the Near East.

Google Image Search
Use the Google Image Search to find just images.

Academic Video Online (AVON) This link opens in a new window
A multidisciplinary video collection that supports the entire curriculum. You'll find documentaries, interviews, feature films, news programs and newsreels, along with thousands of award-winning films, including Academy®, Emmy®, and Peabody® winners. Includes Counseling & Therapy in Video Classic & volumes III & IV collections.

CATH 3002: Catholic Thought & Culture in the Second Millennium

Interim Fine & Performing Arts Librarian

Find Background Information

Find Scholarly Journal Articles and Books

SLUth - Search Plus

Find Presentation Materials