Research Guides: Company Research: Public Companies

Your Librarian

Contact:

Pius XII Memorial Library / office 202F

judy.geczi@slu.edu
(314) 977-3595

Subject: Business

Subjects: Business, Communication, Core

Benchmarking

One way to assess a particular company's financial health is to compare its financial statement and ratios to an aggregate norm for the industry in which it operates.

BizMiner This link opens in a new window
Bizminer offers industry financial analysis benchmarks for over 5,000 lines of business and industry market trends on thousands more. The market analysis reports are available at the national and local levels down to the zip code....more.

RMA eStatement Studies
The online version of the RMA Annual Statement Studies includes financial ratio benchmarks, as well as industry default probabilities and cash flow measures. Statistics are derived from data submitted by bank members of the Risk Management Association. The data comes from more than 260,000 statements of public and private companies, but the vast majority are from small to medium sized non-public companies. Covers over 700 industries arranged by NAICS and usually also by assets/sales size. Some data is presented in medians/quartiles. There are subsets of data by U.S. region and four years of data from past editions. Detailed explanations of the ratios can be found under the tab About eStatement Studies

Public Company Research

Mergent Online
Contains company financials, financial ratios, current and historical annual reports, and shares information for U.S. and global public companies.
more...less...
For a Full Company Report, choose Mergent Report on the Report tab.

Statista This link opens in a new window
Enter your company in the search box. Look for the Statista Dossier on your company that can be downloaded as a PDF. The dossier presents a range of statistics and facts about your company.
Business Insights: Global This link opens in a new window
Provides company and industry intelligence on thousands of global companies. It includes periodical articles, news articles, and press releases; investment reports; corporate chronologies and company histories; brands and product information; industry and company rankings; financial overviews; industry overviews and case studies...more.
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Choose 'Company Info' and enter your company name on the home page. Also, choose 'Business' under Discover Topics on the bottom left, then choose 'Company Dossier'. Enter your company name (and city or state if necessary).
Standard & Poors Global Market Intelligence This link opens in a new window
Use the Companies search to find your company's profile. Use links on left-had side to get further company and industry information.
Business Source Premier This link opens in a new window
Marketline Company Profile Report: Click on Company Profile from the top menu bar. Search for a company. From results, click on the Marketline Report link for a detailed company report.
IBISWorld This link opens in a new window
Current. An industry analysis resource providing access to industry and company research reports for more than 700 United States industries. Includes Industry Risk Rating Reports and Economic & Demographic Profiles....more.

EDGAR
EDGAR, the Electronic Data Gathering, Analysis, and Retrieval system, performs automated collection, validation, indexing, acceptance, and forwarding of submissions by companies and others who are required by law to file forms with the U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission (SEC). Locate 10-K, 10-Q, and other required SEC filings
Yahoo Finance
Business description, stock prices (current & historical), holdings, financial statements, news, etc.

Company Reports available as PDFs

Business Source Premier This link opens in a new window
Marketline Company Profile Report: Click on Company Profile from the top menu bar. Search for a company. From results, click on the Marketline Report link for a detailed company report.
MERGENT Online This link opens in a new window
Search for, then select your company using the Company Search box.. Under the Reports tab, click Mergent Report to access a report on your company that you can download.
Business Insights: Global This link opens in a new window
Find your company using the search box. Choose "Investment Reports" on the left. Investment Reports from analysts at companies such as ValueEngine will be listed. Click on a report to access.
Statista This link opens in a new window
Enter your company in the search box. Look for the Statista Dossier on your company that can be downloaded as a PDF. The dossier presents a range of statistics and facts about your company.

Company Ads

AdForum Creative Library This link opens in a new window
Includes a searchable directory of advertising and marketing agencies and a library of global commercials and ad campaigns. You'll also find advertising news, awards information, and job resources. View ad campaigns online or download them for study, research and presentations...more.