Research Guides: ENGL 4060: The Craft of Fiction: Home

English Librarian

Jamie Emery

she/her/hers

Email Me

Contact:

Pius XII Memorial Library
202G

314-977-3591

Subjects: African American Studies, American Studies, English, Fine & Performing Arts, History

Historical Newspaper Databases

ProQuest Historical Newspapers This link opens in a new window
Search across the following historical newspapers at one time: Chicago Defender (July 1909-1975), Chicago Tribune (1849-1994), St. Louis Post-Dispatch (1874-2003), and The New York Times (1851-2014)...more.
New York Times (ProQuest Historical Newspapers) This link opens in a new window
1851-2017. Provides digital reproductions of every page from every available issue in the date range available. Search the full text and display pdf of article as well as position of article on the original page….more.
Chicago Tribune (ProQuest Historical Newspapers) This link opens in a new window
1849-1992. Search for and view individual articles in the Chicago Tribune as well as their position on the full page....more.
St. Louis Post-Dispatch (ProQuest Historical Newspapers) This link opens in a new window
1874-2003. Search the historical St. Louis Post-Dispatch...more.
Chicago Defender (ProQuest Historical Newspapers) This link opens in a new window
1910-1975. A leading Black newspaper published in Chicago, but with over two-thirds of its readers outside of that city...more.
Times Digital Archive, 1785-1985 This link opens in a new window
1785-1985. Search the first 200 years of The Times (London) and display and print page images of individual articles or an entire page....more.

Recent Newspaper Databases

New York Times Recent (ProQuest Recent Newspapers) This link opens in a new window
2008-3 months ago. Access the digitized New York Times-Late Edition East Coast online...more.
St. Louis Post-Dispatch (ProQuest Recent Newspapers) This link opens in a new window
2008-3 months ago. Access the digitized St. Louis Post-Dispatch-Final Edition online. Printing, emailing, and saving whole pages or individual articles is possible. ...more.
Wall Street Journal (ProQuest Recent Newspapers) This link opens in a new window
2008- 3 months ago. Contains full digitized pages of the WSJ and includes photos, graphics, and advertisements....more.
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Approximately 1980-present. Nexis Uni provides access to full-text of local, national, and international news sources.

Research Tip

When searching primary source library databases, make sure you're searching for keywords and phrases that were used during the time period you're researching.