Research Guides: HIST 1110-02: Origins of the Modern World to 1500 (Gilbert): Home

Find Background Information

Gale eBooks This link opens in a new window
A growing collection of reference books. Subjects include history, philosophy, religion, science, business, careers, literature, law, medicine, education, and more.

Find Scholarly Books and Journal Articles

If you're looking specifically for books and ebooks, your best bet is to use the Saint Louis University Libraries' Catalog.

Look for books published by university presses and scholarly associations, written by authors with degrees and credentials in the field. Scholarly or academic books will also cite their sources and will have a lengthy list of references.

Learn how to find books on a topic using the SLU Libraries Catalog by watching this short video.

Search for scholarly (aka peer reviewed) journal articles and scholarly books using SLUth Search Plus. It searches more than 100 library databases, including many that are relevant to this class (JSTOR, Project Muse, Bibliography of Asian Studies, ATLA Religion Database, Philosopher's Index, and the SLU Libraries Catalog).

Learn how to use SLUth Search Plus by watching this short video.

JSTOR This link opens in a new window
This primarily archival journal resource and current scholarship program provides access to full-text of approximately 1200 unique journal titles.
Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
Provides full-text access to 600+ current, scholarly journals from over 200 university and not-for-profit presses primarily in the areas of humanities and social sciences with some in science, technology, and mathematics.
International Medieval Bibliography This link opens in a new window
Covers the European Middle Ages (c. 400-1500) by indexing articles from about 4,500 journals, essays from Festschriften, conference proceedings, etc.
Iter Bibliography This link opens in a new window
Indexes secondary source articles about the Middle Ages and Renaissance (400-1700).
Bibliography of Asian Studies This link opens in a new window
Includes journal articles, books, and chapters about the culture and civilizations in East, Southeast, and South Asia.

HIST 1110-02: Origins of the Modern World to 1500 (Gilbert)

In-Class Polling Activity

History Librarian

Find Background Information

Find Scholarly Books and Journal Articles

SLUth - Search Plus

Scholarly Books

Peer Review