From within Gale Literature, follow these steps to find an entry in one of Gale's Literary Criticism Series that provides information about the critical history of a text.
1) From the Advanced Search page, search for a text using the "Name Of Work" field.
2) Under the limit by Product/Series drop-down menu, search for "criticism" and select all titles that appear.
3) Limit by Content Type to "Topic & Work Overviews."
4) click "Search."
You're looking for an article that looks like this:
If you don't find what you're looking for in Gale Literature, search Gale's Literary Index to see if the content you need is in a print volume in Pius Library.
Search for books and eBooks using the Saint Louis University Libraries' Catalog.
To find the books about the life and work of an author, use a SUBJECT search in the SLU Libraries Catalog. You'll find a listing of all the libraries books on an author, broken down by subject area.
To find the works of an author, search for them as AUTHORS in the SLU Libraries Catalog.
SLUth Search Plus searches about 100 library databases, including MLA International Bibliography, JSTOR, Project Muse, and the SLU Libraries Catalog.
A digital library of academic content in many formats and disciplines. The collections include top peer-reviewed scholarly journals as well as respected literary journals, academic monographs, research reports from trusted institutes, and diverse primary sources. Due to its archival nature, JSTOR does not include current or recent issues of journals.
SLU has access to all JSTOR archival journals and primary source content through the JSTOR Archival Journals and Primary Sources Collection. Click here for a complete list of the included collections...more.
MLA International Bibliography offers many specialized search options, including the following.
Browse Authors - Quickly find all of the articles in MLA that are about a specific author.
Browse Authors - Quickly find all of the articles in MLA that are about a specific work.
Subject Search - Find articles in MLA about a specific subject, literary technique, etc.)
1780-1925. Collection of primary source materials created during the "long nineteenth century" (late 1700s to early 1900s). Includes books, periodicals, diaries, letters, manuscripts, photographs, pamphlets, maps, sheet music, and more….more.
Search across the following historical newspapers at one time: Chicago Defender (July 1909-1975), Chicago Tribune (1849-1996), Kansas City Call (1919-2010), Los Angeles Times (1881-2014), The New York Times (1851-2016) and the St. Louis Post-Dispatch (1874-2003)....more.
19th Century newspapers from cities and rural areas throughout the United States... more.
1665-2005. Provides indexing for magazines and journals back to 1665. This database pairs with Periodicals Archive Online (PAO) for its available full text in the social sciences and humanities....more.
