News Sources

For full access to The New York Times, follow the "How to Create an Account" instructions below. You will need to use your SLU email address to register.

After registration, you can sign in to The New York Times from anywhere, including on the NYT app or from this link:

1. Navigate to accessnyt.com. Search for and select Saint Louis University.

2. On the NYT registration page, click “Create Account.” Enter your @slu.edu or @health.slu.edu email and click “Continue.” If you do not already have an account, you will need to create a password. 

3. You will receive a confirmation email to verify your email address to complete the account setup. Click the link in the email to validate your email address.

4. You will be prompted to indicate if you are Student or Faculty/Staff.  Faculty/staff access is valid for four years from date of registration. Student access is valid until December of your graduation year. 

5. You will get a notice that “You’ve Claimed Your NYTimes Pass!” Click “Get Started” to continue setting up and personalizing your New York Times experience.

Student subscriptions are valid through graduation date entered at sign up. Faculty/staff subscriptions are valid for four years.

To Renew:

1. Click on 'Already have an account? Log in'. Login with the same username and password that you registered with. If you have forgotten your password, click the Forgot password? link.

2. You will see an on-screen confirmation that your pass has been reactivated, the new expiration date, and an option to add a calendar reminder for next year.

All Access provides unlimited access to everything The New York Times has to offer, including:

• News: Engage with expert reporting, including breaking news, culture coverage and analysis.

• Games: Unwind with Spelling Bee, Wordle, the Crossword and an archive of over 10,000 past puzzles.

• Cooking: Enjoy delicious recipes, advice and inspiration daily.

• Audio: Enjoy full access to podcasts and audio journalism on NYTimes.com, via the Listen tab on The New York Times app, and on Apple Podcasts and Spotify.

• Wirecutter: Choose products confidently with reviews and real-world testing.

• The Athletic: Follow in-depth, personalized coverage of your favorite sports.

• TimesMachine: Explore a browser-based digital replica of all issues of The New York Times from 1851 to 2002. Education users are able to download up to five PDFs per day, with unlimited browsing.

• The New York Times Article Archive: Access partial and full-text digital versions of articles from 1851 to today, with redirects to TimesMachine where applicable.

• Subscriber-Only Newsletters: An exclusive collection of newsletters, available only to subscribers.

• New York Times inEducation: Curated reading lists around key areas of study, updated weekly, accessible via nytimes.com/edu.

• Gift Articles: Gift up to 10 News articles or Cooking recipes per month.

• Saved Articles: Save articles by selecting the Save button in the article tools list under the headline. Saved articles are accessible in each user's Reading List, when logged in.

Have a paid personal account with your SLU email?

- Contact NYT, cancel your personal account, and then you can set up a SLU account. Cancellation will occur when the current subscription expires. 

Have a paid personal account with a non-SLU email?

- Set up a SLU NYT account using your @slu.edu or @health.slu.edu email address, and cancel your personal account if you wish.

To cancel an existing account:

• See the NYT Cancellation Page

• Or, call 1-800-698-4637

For advanced search functions, use our subscriptions in academic databases:

Please note the New York Times Terms of Service and Privacy agreements.

A New York Times digital edition subscription is available to all SLU students, faculty, and staff courtesy of the Student Government Association (SGA) and SLU Libraries.