Research Guides: Philosophy: Articles

About this guide

Note: Philosophy touches every aspect of our lives. Philosophy research will likely require you to look at databases and sources for other disciplines. Below are a few recommended databases. See a full listing of Philosophy databases here: https://libraries.slu.edu/search/databases/dbsearch.php?page=P

Best Bets

Philosopher's Index This link opens in a new window
1940-present. Indexes and partially abstracts journal articles drawn from over 1,850 journals and book reviews, essays from books, dissertations, and monographs in philosophy and related fields.
PhilPapers: Philosophical Research Online This link opens in a new window
Pre-1940-present. Search a comprehensive index of the research literature in philosophy with coverage of sources not indexed in Philosopher's Index including journals, books, open access archives, and personal pages.

Other philosophy databases

Past Masters (InteLex) This link opens in a new window
The following authors' works are available to SLU: Abelard, Anselm, Ockham, Peirce, and Scotus.
Parker Library on the Web This link opens in a new window
500-1599. Consists of manuscripts relating to Anglo-Saxon England that were collected by Matthew Parker during his lifetime (1504-75) and now housed at Corpus Christi College, Cambridge.
Periodicals Archive Online (PAO) This link opens in a new window
19th cent. (start date varies by title)-2005. This database complements Periodicals Index Online by providing full text for many journals in the humanities and social sciences indexed in PIO.
Periodicals Index Online (PIO) This link opens in a new window
1665 - present. Provides indexing for magazines and journals back to 1665. This database pairs with Periodicals Archive Online (PAO) for its available full text in the social sciences and humanities.
Philosophy Documentation Center (POIESIS) Journals This link opens in a new window
Currently provides online access to 50 current and archived journals relating to various aspects of philosophy.
L'Annee Philologique This link opens in a new window
1928-present. Search the digital version of all volumes of the annual index for the print L'Annee philologique for scholarly works that relate to all aspects of ancient Greek and Roman civilizations.

Related legal databases

PAIS Index This link opens in a new window
1915-present. This database indexes journal articles, conference proceedings, book chapters and more on political science, public administration, economics, law, and topics that are or may become subjects of legislation.
PLI Plus This link opens in a new window
Provides complete access to authoritative treatises, course handbooks, answer books, legal forms, and program trascripts from the Practising Law Institute (PLI). Courtesy of the Vincent C. Immel Law Library.
ProQuest Trends & Policy: U.S. Criminal Justice This link opens in a new window
1789-present. A primary source collection of U.S. criminal justice documents including legislative reports, public laws, government statistics, news articles.

Related medical databases

PDQ® Cancer Information for Health Professionals This link opens in a new window
Freely available online. PDQ (Physician Data Query) is a comprehensive cancer database containing peer-reviewed summaries on cancer treatment, screening, prevention, genetics, supportive care, and complementary & alternative medicine.
PEDro (Physiotherapy Evidence Database) This link opens in a new window
Freely available online. 1929-present. Abstracts for randomized trials, systematic reviews, and clinical practice guidelines related to physiotherapy.
ProQuest Trends & Policy: U.S. Healthcare This link opens in a new window
A curated primary source collection related to U.S. healthcare policies