Global Issues - English for Academic Purposes - EAP - Research Guides at Saint Louis University Libraries

Choosing a Topic

Sometimes choosing your topic feels like hardest part of writing your paper. Pius Library has resources that can help you find a great topic.

CQ Researcher This link opens in a new window
Each issue of this resource explores all sides of a "hot" current topic in some depth. Use it to find research topic ideas, refine a topic, or get background information on a topic
Opposing Viewpoints This link opens in a new window
Provides pro-con resources for many topics such as hybrid cars, terrorism, legalizing marijuana, and health care by including the Opposing Viewpoints book series and much more....more.

Opposing Viewpoint Series (Books)
Series of books presenting pro and con positions on various topics, i.e., animal experimentation, violence, genetic engineering, gangs, etc. Link from the title to see a list of many books in the series.
Taking Sides (Books)
Book series presenting pro/con positions on various topics. Link from the title to see a list of books in the series.

Step 1 - Background Information

Search the resources here for definitions and a general overview for your topic.

Gale eBooks This link opens in a new window
Formerly Gale Virtual Reference Library (GVRL). A growing collection of reference books. Subjects include history, philosophy, religion, science, business, careers, literature, law, medicine, education, and more....more.

Step 3 - Journal Articles

Search the following databases for journal articles on your topic.

CQ Researcher This link opens in a new window
10/25/1991-present. Each issue of this resource explores all sides of a "hot" current topic in some depth. Use it to find research topic ideas, refine a topic, or get background information on a topic...more.
SLUth - Search Plus This link opens in a new window
Use SLUth to start your information search - find journal articles across all disciplines, plus newspaper articles, books, ebooks and more! Some major databases such as ABI/INFORM Complete, Biological Abstracts, PsycINFO, and Sociological Abstracts are not included....more.
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
THE database for Education Law. It also contains general news articles and business and company information. more.

Step 2 - Books from the Library Collection

Search for books using Saint Louis University Libraries' Catalog

Advanced Search

To find titles in the catalog do a keyword search using the words "Opposing Viewpoints" or "Taking Sides" and a keyword from your "topic" example: "Opposing Viewpoints" and "Global Warming".

Did not find what you want? Search, the Missouri statewide union catalog and Tulsa City-County Library, then from Colorado and Wyoming.

Still did not locate a specific resource? Try WorldCat, the US union catalog.

If the book is not available in MOBIUS or Prospector, use ILLiad Interlibrary Loan to request the book.