Research Guides: EAP 1500: College Composition for International Students: Home

Helpful Databases

SLU's Discovery Database & Popular Culture Database

SLUth - Search Plus This link opens in a new window
A multi-disciplinary "one-search" discovery search tool covering over 50 databases, the SLU Library Catalog, and journal content from multiple publishers.
Popular Culture Collection This link opens in a new window
Indexes scholarly journals and popular periodicals about popular culture topics.

Helpful Magazines

Entertainment Weekly
Entertainment magazine published weekly.
The Hollywood Reporter
Magazine which focuses on the Hollywood film, television, and entertainment industries.
TV Guide Magazine
Biweekly magazine that provides television program listings information as well as television-related news, celebrity interviews and gossip, film reviews, crossword puzzles.
Vanity Fair
Monthly magazine of popular culture, fashion, and current affairs published

Newspaper Databases

Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Provides access to full-text of local, national, and international news sources; business, financial, and company information; legal sources for state and federal levels.
New York Times Digital Subscription This link opens in a new window
1851-present. Use this link above to register for a NYT online account using your @slu.edu or @health.slu.edu email address. Once your SLU NYT account is created, use it to login to the NYT app or website for full access. Further instructions and information can be found on our News Sources guide.
Wall Street Journal Digital Subscription This link opens in a new window
Use this link to create a WSJ account on the registration page with your @slu.edu or @health.slu.edu email address. You will be prompted to verify your SLU credentials. Once your SLU WSJ account is created, use it to login to the WSJ app or website for full access.
Accounts must be reactivated after 365 days by visiting the library's link to WSJ (above), logging into the SLU portal, and then into your WSJ account.
For more detailed information, please visit our News Sources guide.

Boxoffice Pro
"In publication since 1920, Boxoffice Pro is the reference publication of theatrical exhibition. Serving as the official publication of the National Association of Theatre Owners, Boxoffice Pro includes expert analysis of industry trends, executive profiles, and exclusive financial forecasts in print and online. Following its 2018 merger with Film Journal International, Boxoffice Pro is the only monthly magazine exclusively focused on the interests of theatrical exhibition worldwide."
Filmsite.org
An award-winning website for classic film buffs, students, moviegoers and anyone else interested in the great movies of the last century. Detailed plot synopses, review commentary and film reference material are just some of the features available on the site.
NPR
NPR includes videos, articles, and podcasts on current issues.
Robert Ebert - Movie Reviews
"The world’s preeminent destination for movie criticism, commentary and community. Ever since the passing of the site's co-founder and namesake, Pulitzer Prize-winning film critic Roger Ebert, in 2013, it has been run by his wife, Chaz Ebert..."
Variety - Film
Film industry news & reviews. Recognized and respected through out the world of show business, Variety is the premier source of entertainment news.
The Village Voice - The Culture - FIlm
Film section of the Village Voice that covers news and culture, known for being the country's first alternative newsweekly.