1994-present. The Federal Register is a legal newspaper published every business day by the National Archives and Records Administration (NARA). The Federal Register contains: Federal Agency Regulations. Proposed Rules and Public Notices.
Searches scholarly resources such as abstracts, journal articles, and reprints from many publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories and other sources from a wide variety of disciplines. Links to resources available to current SLU students, faculty, and staff display next to the references when on campus.
Provides free online access to more than a million official publications from all three branches of the Federal Government, including the Congressional Record, Federal Register, Code of Federal Regulations and much more. Coverage years vary by title. Govinfo is the replacement system for FDSys, which will no longer be available as of December 2018.
The Legal Information Institute at Cornell University's Law School is a useful compendium of legal resources including the Wex Legal Encyclopedia, historical Supreme Court Cases, Annotated Constitution, Congressional information, U.S. Code, and more.
Contains 15 years of historical and financial information as reported by the companies for over 15,000 U.S. public companies traded on the NYSE, NASDAQ, and AMEX stock exchanges as well as historical and financial information for approximately 17,000 non-United States-based companies from over 100 countries.
This is the new interface and design for LexisNexis Academic. The primary source for current and historical court cases and for State and United States' statutes, codes, and regulations. Also includes law review articles, legal reference sources, Shepards citations, as well as national news and company information.
While not specifically a legal resource, the USA.gov search is the easiest way to search across all federal and state websites to find relevant resources. Search USA.gov searches .gov, .mil, .us and selected other domains that include official local, regional, state and federal government agencies as well as quasi governmental agencies such as the Smithsonian.
Additional Websites for Legal Information & Class Assignments
Portal providing information to the public on all aspects of the Judicial Branch of the Missouri State Government including links to state courts, Supreme Court Rules, Casenet, forms, and how to represent oneself.
This official CRS Reports site was launched on September 18, 2018, marking the first time CRS Reports are freely and publicly available form an official source. This site may still have some kinks to work out in search functionality, and does not include as many older reports as ProQuest Congressional, but it will be available to you after you leave SLU.
Courtesy of the Law Library, LLMC Digital Collections consist of digitized law materials from the Legislative, Judicial, and Executive Branches of the U.S. government, military law, some state law, and some common law abroad. The focus tends to be historical, but contains supplementary information its difficulty to find elsewhere.
1929-2016. Provides comprehensive legislative histories consisting of "fully searchable PDFs of full-text publications generated in the course of congressional lawmaking. Each history includes the full text of the public law itself, all versions of related bills, law-specific Congressional Record excerpts, committee hearings, reports, and prints." (text from site 4/25/2016)
On Regulations.gov, you can find and comment on proposed regulations and related documents published by the U.S. Federal government. You can also find final regs, notices, findings, guidance, adjudications and comments by others.