Research Guides: ARTH 2070: Art and the Body: Home

Find Background Information

Oxford Art Online This link opens in a new window
Includes a combination of traditional reference sources, including Grove Dictionary of Art, Benezit Dictionary of Artists, The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms, Encyclopedia of Aesthetics, and The Oxford Companion to Western Art. This database allows for 4-5 simultaneous users.

Find Scholarly Sources

Some sources will include full-text, but others will include the Find it @ SLU button which links to full-text when available and if not available, gives you the option to request articles for free through Interlibrary Loan's ILLiad service.

Art Full Text This link opens in a new window
Includes journal articles, yearbooks, and museum bulletins covering every type of art including advertising, antiques, history, computer art, graphic arts, and more.
Index of Medieval Art This link opens in a new window
This index records works of art produced throughout the "Long Middle Ages," from early apostolic times until the sixteenth century. It includes approximately 100,000 images of Christian art along with mythological scenes, personifications, symbolic animals, and more from the art of western Europe, Byzantium, Coptic Egypt, Lebanon, Ethiopia, Syria, Armenia, and the Near East.
Bibliography of the History of Art (BHA and RILA) This link opens in a new window
1975 - 2007. An archive only database as of April 2010, it combines Bibliography of the History of Art (BHA) and the Répertoire international de la littérature de l'art (RILA) into a searchable whole. Coverage includes history of the fine, decorative, and applied arts in Europe and the New World from late antiquity to the present. Note that it's an archive only and won't include the most recent scholarship on any given topic.

SLUth Search Plus includes all of the databases below it. If you're searching SLUth and getting too many irrelevant results, you may want to search one of the more narrowly focused databases listed here.

SLUth - Search Plus This link opens in a new window
Search for scholarly journal articles books using SLUth Search Plus. It searches more than 100 library databases and the SLU Libraries Catalog.
Arts & Humanities Citation Index This link opens in a new window
Provides author, subject, and citation indexing of articles published in arts and humanities journals.
Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
Premium collection provides full-text access to 600+ current, scholarly journals from over 200 university and not-for-profit presses primarily in the areas of humanities and social sciences with some in science, technology, and mathematics.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
A digital library of academic content in many formats and disciplines. The collections include top peer-reviewed scholarly journals as well as respected literary journals, academic monographs, research reports from trusted institutes, and diverse primary sources.
Humanities International Complete This link opens in a new window
Indexing and abstracting for more than 2,300 publications plus full-text for over 1,200 journals, some books, and reference sources. Covers literature, history, theology, philosophy, and art.
Saint Louis University Libraries Catalog This link opens in a new window
Contains the most complete listing available of books, ebooks, journals, ejournals, videos, government documents, online resources, and other materials provided by the SLU Libraries.
Google Scholar @ SLU This link opens in a new window
Freely available online. Use this link to search Google Scholar with SLU full-text options. Look for the "Find It @ SLU" link.
On-campus, “Find It @ SLU” links will appear automatically.
Off-campus, setup your Google Scholar Preferences using the steps found under “Additional Info” below.
To see the Find It @ SLU link when searching Google Scholar off-campus:
- Sign in to Google Scholar Settings-Library Links
- Search for “Saint Louis University”
- Select “Find It @ SLU”
- Save

SLUth Search Plus searches the SLU Libraries Catalog, but you might find it easier to find books using the SLU Libraries Catalog directly. It's an inventory of what we have in and via the library.

Here is a guide to the location of books in Pius Library. They're arranged by their Library of Congress call numbers.

Saint Louis University Libraries Catalog This link opens in a new window
Contains the most complete listing available of books, ebooks, journals, ejournals, videos, government documents, online resources, and other materials provided by the SLU Libraries.

Keep track: Keep a list of the databases and search terms you used, that way you'll know what you already tried and where you had success!

Quotation marks: “Anna Moranda Manzolini” searches for the phrase Anna Moranda Manzolini. Searching without quotation marks will search for Anna and Moranda and Manzolini anywhere in the record.

Asterisk: anatom* searches for anatomy, anatomies, anotomical, etc.

Question mark: wom?n searches for women and woman

Cite Sources

Chicago Manual of Style Online This link opens in a new window
Provides guidance in American English grammar, usage, and writing style in addiiton to examples of how to cite print and electronic publications. Both the 16th and 17th editions are available.