Research Guides: ASTD 6930: Native American & Indigenous Studies: Home

American Studies Librarian

she/her/hers

Email Me

Contact:

Pius XII Memorial Library
202G

314-977-3591

Subjects: African American Studies, American Studies, Catholic Studies, English, Fine & Performing Arts, History, Women's and Gender Studies

Government Information Librarian

Rebecca Hyde

she/her/hers

Email Me

Contact:

Pius XII Memorial Library
Room 202H

314-977-3106

Subjects: Criminology & Criminal Justice, Government Information, Political Science, Psychology, Social Work, Urban Planning

Some sources will include full-text, but others will include the Find it @ SLU button which links to full-text when available and if not available, gives you the option to request articles for free through Interlibrary Loan's ILLiad service.

SLUth - Search Plus This link opens in a new window
Multidisciplinary database that searches about 100 library databases and the SLU Libraries Catalog. Includes articles published in scholarly journals, magazines, and newspapers as well as books and ebooks.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
A digital library of academic content in many formats and disciplines. The collections include top peer-reviewed scholarly journals, including American Indian Studies journals.
Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
Premium collection provides full-text access to 600+ current, scholarly journals from over 200 university and not-for-profit presses primarily in the areas of humanities and social sciences. Includes Native American and Indigenous Studies journals.

Saint Louis University Libraries Catalog This link opens in a new window
Contains the most complete listing available of books, ebooks, journals, ejournals, videos, government documents, online resources, and other materials provided by the SLU Libraries.
MOBIUS Union Catalog This link opens in a new window
Expand your search for books across most of the academic libraries in Missouri and some in Oklahoma. Using the "Request" feature, have the book(s) you need delivered to a MOBIUS library of your choice.

Prospector
To expand your search beyond the SLU Libraries and MOBIUS, search Prospector. You can use it to borrow books from libraries in Colorado and Wyoming

WorldCat This link opens in a new window
Search all types of library materials cataloged by libraries that provide records to OCLC, the U.S. national database, using advanced searching techniques to locate books, recordings, videos, websites, etc.

Find Primary Sources

AAS Historical Periodicals Collection This link opens in a new window
Provides digital access to 50 thematic series of American magazines and journals published between 1684 and 1912 and collected by the American Antiquarian Society.
Accessible Archives This link opens in a new window
This database brings together diverse primary source materials reflecting broad views across American history and culture from the 1700s and 1800s. Content includes newspapers, magazines, books, and county histories such as African American Newspapers, Godey’s Lady Book, and the Pennsylvania Gazette.
Nineteenth Century Collections Online This link opens in a new window
1780-1925. Collection of primary source materials created during the "long nineteenth century" (late 1700s to early 1900s). Includes books, periodicals, diaries, letters, manuscripts, photographs, pamphlets, maps, sheet music, and more….more.

ProQuest Historical Newspapers This link opens in a new window
Search across the following historical newspapers at one time: Chicago Defender (July 1909-1975), Chicago Tribune (1849-1996), Kansas City Call (1919-2010), Los Angeles Times (1881-2014), The New York Times (1851-2016) and the St. Louis Post-Dispatch (1874-2003)....more.
19th Century U.S. Newspapers This link opens in a new window
19th Century newspapers from cities and rural areas throughout the United States... more.
University Wire (Nexis Uni) This link opens in a new window
University Wire (UWire) is the only aggregator of college news from around the U.S. With a collection of daily news stories from 800 colleges, UWire readers can stay on top of university trends, opinions, sports, and entertainment from around the 50 states.

ProQuest Congressional This link opens in a new window
Includes relevant Congressional as well as Executive Branch documents, including reports from the Bureau of Indian Affairs, Bureau of Ethnology, War Department, Congressional Hearings, and more.
ProQuest Legislative Insight This link opens in a new window
Includes legislative histories for selected laws, including some treaties with the Osage. Legislative histories include all congressional documents created in the process of passing the law including: bill text, committee hearings and reports, votes on the floor of Congress, etc.
U.S. Congressional Serial Set This link opens in a new window
Search reports, documents and journals of the U.S. Senate and House of Representatives, 1817-1994 (15th-103rd Congress). Overlap with ProQuest Congressional, but includes full color scans of original documents.

Bureau of American Ethnology Publications Online
Catalog of Bureau of American Ethology Annual Report and Bulletin contents, along with links to the full text. Some of these are duplicated in the other sources on this page, but are sometimes more easily identified using this source.
American Indians and the American West, 1809-1971
A collection within ProQuest History Vault, it features records on American Indians and the American West from the 19th and 20th centuries.

AAS Historical Periodicals Collection This link opens in a new window
Provides digital access to 50 thematic series of American magazines and journals published between 1684 and 1912 and collected by the American Antiquarian Society...more.

American Studies Research Guide

American Studies
by Jamie Emery Last Updated Nov 7, 2023 221 views this year