Research Guides: SOC4025 : Qualitative Research: Find Articles

Best Bets

Sociological Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Search for articles related to sociology. To narrow your results, you can limit by date or to "Peer Review".
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
1887-present. An interdisciplinary resource for magazines and journals. You can limit results to "Scholarly (Peer Reviewed) Journals)", by date and more.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
A primarily archival journal article resource (not much more current than 4 years ago and back), which provides access to full-text of articles.
Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
Search current, scholarly journals from university and not-for-profit presses, primarily in the social sciences.

More Library Resources

Need to broaden your search beyond the resources listed above? Browse for other library databases to search using the links below. Feel free to ask a librarian for help on where to search!

Pius Library Website
You can find all library research databases from the "Databases" tab on the library homepage. Find them alphabetically or browse by subject using the "Doing Research On" list.
All SLU Sociology Databases
Browse for other sociology databases that may be useful for researching your topic.

Locate Full Text

Find It @ SLU

Look for the Find It @ SLU button to locate the full text of an article. If you don't see a link to a PDF for an article in your search results, the Find It @ SLU button will search the library's resources for a copy of the article. If it doesn't locate one, it will provide you with a link to place a request via Interlibrary Loan.

If you can't find the full text of an article via SLU Libraries, you can place an Interlibrary Loan request for it. After you place your request, you'll receive an email with the article within a few business days.

Interlibrary Loan
Request articles not owned by SLU.

If you've located an article from a particular journal and want to see if SLU Libraries provide access, you can use the "Journal Titles" search on the library homepage.

Journal Title Search
Search for the title of a journal to see if SLU Libraries provide access.

Search Tips

Combine search terms with AND/OR/NOT

OR – to broaden a search
AND – AND to narrow
NOT- exclude a term from your search

Use limiters or filters in a library database to narrow your search by:

Date
Document Type (review, etc.)
Source Type (scholarly journal, magazine, etc.)
Peer Review (available in some databases)

Search multiple library research databases for your topic! This will provide you with the broadest range of results.

Is it peer reviewed?

Use the database "Peer Review" filter, if available.
Remember that primary sources and articles from popular magazines are not peer reviewed.
Look at the "About" or Submission Guidelines section of the journal to find information about their review process.

Feeling stuck or don't know where to start? Email your librarian!