Below are Encyclopedia databases that can help you find background information on your topic. You are not able to cite these sources in your paper but they still might be helpful in learning more about your topic and finding keywords and other terms you can use when searching for other sources.
Use the databases below to search for sources such as articles, videos, and podcasts.
General Databases
A multi-disciplinary discovery tool that searches over 130 research databases, the SLU Library Catalog, SLU Digital Collections, and journal content from multiple publishers. Find articles, books, videos, and more.
Provides pro-con resources for topics in the media by including the Opposing Viewpoints book series; journal, magazine, and newspaper articles; statistics; and more.
Streaming Film Databases
Playlist of selected films for on-demand streaming.
Newspaper Databases
Provides access to full-text of local, national, and international news sources; business, financial, and company information; legal sources for state and federal levels.
1851-present. Use this link above to register for a NYT online account using your @slu.edu or @health.slu.edu email address. Once your SLU NYT account is created, use it to login to the NYT app or website for full access. Further instructions and information can be found on our News Sources guide.
Includes full access to articles, NYT Cooking, Games, The Athletic, and Wirecutter.
Use this link to create a WSJ account on the registration page with your @slu.edu or @health.slu.edu email address. You will be prompted to verify your SLU credentials. Once your SLU WSJ account is created, use it to login to the WSJ app or website for full access.
Accounts must be reactivated after 365 days by visiting the library's link to WSJ (above), logging into the SLU portal, and then into your WSJ account.
For more detailed information, please visit our News Sources guide.