Research Guides: Company Research: Non-Profits

Funding

SPIN (InfoEd Sponsored Programs Information Network)

World’s largest searchable database of sponsored research funding opportunities in many disciplines.
On-campus access available without logging in. Off-campus access requires you to create a profile. Click here for more information about or help with access. Courtesy of SLU's Office of the Vice President for Research.

Websites

These websites were selected as resources for nonprofit company & organization information.

Charity Navigator
Charity Navigator has become the nation's largest evaluator of charities that has examined tens of thousands of non-profit financial documents. They've developed an unbiased numbers-based rating system to assess over 9,000 of America's best-known and some lesser known, but worthy, charities.
990 Finder
Database of individual 990 forms of private foundations, public charities, and other nonprofits.
GuideStar
GuideStar is an information service specializing in reporting on U.S. nonprofit companies.
Urban Institute’s Center on Nonprofits and Philanthropy
The center studies the role and impact of nonprofit organizations and philanthropy.
Better Business Bureau Wise Giving Alliance
The BBB Wise Giving Alliance helps donors make informed giving decisions and promotes high standards of conduct among organizations that solicit contributions from the public. It produces reports about national charities, evaluating them against comprehensive Standards for Charity Accountability.
Chronicle of Philanthropy
The Chronicle of Philanthropy is an independent news organization that has been serving leaders, fundraisers, grant makers, and others involved in the philanthropic enterprise for more than 25 years.
National Center for Charitable Statistics
National repository of data on the nonprofit sector in the United States.
National Council of Nonprofits
Trade association for non-profit organizations.
Nonprofit Explorer from ProPublica (an independent, nonprofit newsroom)
Use this database to view summaries of 3 million tax returns from tax-exempt organizations and see financial details such as their executive compensation and revenue and expenses. You can browse IRS data released since 2013 and access more than 14 million tax filing documents going back as far as 2001.

Article Databases

These databases may include articles about specific non-profits, or may include articles on how to create, lead and manage non-profit organizations.

Business Source Premier

Primarily 1965-present with some earlier. Search over 6,000 business-related journals and magazines as far back as 1963, along with company profiles, industry reports, and market research reports. Includes the Harvard Business Review.
ABI/INFORM Collection

Includes ABI/INFORM Global, ABI/INFORM Trade and Industry and ABI/INFORM Dateline. Indexes and abstracts thousands of journals, trade publications, and regional and local business publications in all areas of business and management, many with an international focus. Some full text is available for many of the publications. This database is part of the Brepolis Latin Complete database collection. 3 simultaneous users.
Nexis Uni

Provides access to full-text of local, national, and international news sources; business, financial, and company information; legal sources for state and federal levels.
Academic Search Complete

1887-present. This multidisciplinary and multi-format database indexes and abstracts over 17,800 magazines and journals with more than 8,500 periodicals containing some full text. Over 15,000 of the journals are peer-reviewed.
SLUth - Search Plus

A multi-disciplinary discovery tool that searches over 130 research databases, the SLU Library Catalog, SLU Digital Collections, and journal content from multiple publishers. Find articles, books, videos, and more.

Company Research

Non-Profit Statistics Database

Books

Funding

Websites

Article Databases