Research Guides: Entrepreneurship: Idea Generation

Resources for brainstorming and developing entrepreneurial Ideas

There is value in browsing for information. Reading newspapers, journals or magazines related to trends or new products/services may lead to good entrepreneurial business ideas.

Business Source Premier This link opens in a new window
Primarily 1965-present with some earlier. Search over 6,000 business-related journals and magazines as far back as 1963, along with company profiles, industry reports, and market research reports. Includes the Harvard Business Review.
ABI/INFORM Collection This link opens in a new window
Includes ABI/INFORM Global, ABI/INFORM Trade and Industry and ABI/INFORM Dateline. Indexes and abstracts thousands of journals, trade publications, and regional and local business publications in all areas of business and management, many with an international focus. Some full text is available for many of the publications. This database is part of the Brepolis Latin Complete database collection. 3 simultaneous users.
SLUth - Search Plus This link opens in a new window
A multi-disciplinary discovery tool that searches over 130 databases, the SLU Library Catalog, SLU Digital Collections, and journal content from multiple publishers. Find articles, books, videos, and more.
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Provides access to full-text of local, national, and international news sources; business, financial, and company information; legal sources for state and federal levels.
Newspaper Source This link opens in a new window
Search the full text for over 60 national and international newspapers, including The Washington Post and The Times (London) along with selected full text for 330+ U.S. regional newspapers.

Google Trends
Tool for seeing general interest in a subject by seeing how frequently people search for that subject.

eBooks

To find audiobooks & eBooks on entrepreneurship and other business topics, search the Saint Louis University Libby database below.

Libby eBooks & Audiobooks This link opens in a new window
eBooks & audiobooks available in the Libby app or the OverDrive website.
Individual account required for access. Register with your SLU credentials and select Saint Louis University as your institution.
For more detailed instructions on downloading the app, borrowing a title, and downloading titles to your e-reader, please see our Libby guide or the Libby help page.