Primarily 1965-present with some earlier. Search over 5,000 business-related journals and magazines along with company profiles, industry reports, market research reports, and more. Includes the Harvard Business Review....more.
1900-present. Includes ABI/INFORM Global, ABI/INFORM Trade and Industry and ABI/INFORM Dateline. Indexes and abstracts thousands of journals, trade publications, and regional and local business publications in all areas of business and management, many with an international focus... more.
Use SLUth to start your information search - find journal articles across all disciplines, plus newspaper articles, books, ebooks and more! Some major databases such as ABI/INFORM Complete, Biological Abstracts, PsycINFO, and Sociological Abstracts are not included....more.
Formerly LexisNexis Academic, Nexis Uni provides access to full-text of local, national, and international news sources; business, financial, and company information; legal sources for state and federal levels...more.
Search the full text of more than 40 national and international newspapers, including Christian Science Monitor, The Washington Post, The Washington Times, The Times (London), and Toronto Star along with selective full text for over 330 U.S. regional, newspapers and TV and radio news transcripts. Provided by SLU's MOREnet membership....more.
Learn to make creativity work for your career. Anyone, regardless of who you are or what you do, can cultivate the habits, actions, and attitudes that inspire creativity and innovation. There has never been a more crucial time than now to develop your creativity and your ability to innovate. Coming up with original ideas of value is today's most precious skill. How Creativity Rules the World shows that, despite contrary beliefs, creativity can be taught and learned by anyone. Creativity is an inexhaustible resource that is the key to thriving in the business world and beyond.
Take a Design-led Approach to Innovation Innovation drives growth in organisations and entire economies. Yet innovation is hard, risky and rarely successful. Most innovations and startups fail because of a lack of focus on the front end of the innovation process where customer needs are researched, insights are distilled, solutions are ideated, prototyped and tested and business models are shaped. But innovation doesn't have to be this way. In Innovator's Playbook, author and leading Design Thinking expert Nathan Baird shares his 20 years of hands-on experience, tools and methods for developing a winning customer-centric approach to innovation. This book will teach you how to apply the design thinking method to innovation and help you to innovate better with five practical and proven stages: 1. Build the right team for innovation. 2. Better understand your customer through empathy. 3. Distill and refine customer-centric needs and insights. 4. Unleash your team's creativity to create fresh new ideas to address customer needs. 5. Experiment and validate desirable, feasible and viable solutions. Innovator's Playbook helps entrepreneurs, corporate teams, startups and leaders across all levels to use design-led methodologies for start-to-finish innovation success.
In 2009 Jim McKelvey lost a sale because he couldn't accept American Express cards. Frustrated by the high costs and difficulty of accepting card payments, McKelvey joined his friend Jack Dorsey (the co-founder of Twitter) to launch Square, a startup that would enable small merchants to accept card payments on their mobiles. But just as Square was taking off, Amazon launched a similar product - but retreated within a year. How did Square beat the most dangerous company on the planet? Was it just luck? McKelvey eventually found the key: a strategy he calls the Innovation Stack.
Engineering Innovation is an overview of the interconnected business and product development techniques needed to nurture the development of raw, emerging technologies into commercially viable products. This book relates Funding Strategies, Business Development, and Product Development to one another as an idea is refined to a validated concept, iteratively developed into a product, then produced for commercialization. Engineering Innovation also provides an introduction to business strategies and manufacturing techniques on a technical level designed to encourage passionate clinicians, academics, engineers and savvy entrepreneurs. Offers a comprehensive overview of the process of bringing new technology to market. Identifies a variety of technology management skill sets and management tools. Explores concept generation in conjunction with intellectual property development for early-stage companies. Explores Quality and Transfer-to-Manufacturing.
Big data entrepreneur Allen Gannett overturns the mythology around creative genius, and reveals the science and secrets behind achieving breakout commercial success in any field. We have been spoon-fed the notion that creativity is the province of genius -- of those favored, brilliant few whose moments of insight arrive in unpredictable flashes of divine inspiration. And if we are not a genius, we might as well pack it in and give up. Either we have that gift, or we don't. But Allen shows that simply isn't true. Recent research has shown that there is a predictable science behind achieving commercial success in any creative endeavor, from writing a popular novel to starting up a successful company to creating an effective marketing campaign. As the world's most creative people have discovered, we are enticed by the novel and the familiar. By understanding the mechanics of what Gannett calls "the creative curve" - the point of optimal tension between the novel and the familiar - everyone can better engineer mainstream success. In a thoroughly entertaining book that describes the stories and insights of everyone from the Broadway team behind Dear Evan Hansen, to the founder of Reddit, from the Chief Content Officer of Netflix to Michelin star chefs, Gannett reveals the four laws of creative success and identifies the common patterns behind their achievement.