3c61a8dfa"> Skip to main content

Patristics/Early Church History

This guide identifies resources on patristics and early church history found in Pius XII Memorial Library. The guide is intended for use by both beginning or advanced graduate students and faculty.

Specialized Theological Encyclopedias/Dictionaries/Early Church/Individuals

Berman, Emmanuel.  Augustin Handbuch.  Tübingen: Mohr Siebeck, 2007.  BR65.A9 A75 2007

A veritable vade mecum for research on Augustine.

Fitzgerald, Allan et al, eds.  Augustine through the Ages:  an encyclopedia.  Grand Rapids, MI & Cambridge, UK:  William B. Eerdmans Publishing Co., 1999  Ref.B655.Z69 A84 1999

Almost 500 articles on the life, thought, work, and influence of Augustine written by an international team of close to 150 scholars.  Indispensable for beginning research on Augustine but also contains much material of interest to the advanced researcher.  See Jenkins, Classical Studies, p. 261 (#755).  A revised French version, Saint Augustin:  La Méditerranée et L'Europe IVe-XXIe Siècle, with updated bibliographies and numerous articles not contained in the English edition is at Ref. B655.Z69 A8414 2005.

Lasanta, Pedro Jesús and Rafael del Olmo Veros.  Diccionario Doctrinal de San Agustín.  Madrid:  Edibesa, 2003.  Ref. BR65.A9 L37 2003

Selection of quotations (in Spanish translation) from Augustine's writings alphabetically arranged by key terms/concepts in Augustine.

Mayer, Cornelius et al, eds.  Augustinus-Lexikon.  Basel, Stuttgart:  Schwabe&Co., AG, 1986- . Ref. BR65.A9 A93 1986

When complete, this reference work will contain approximately 1200 articles on the life, milieu, and thought of Augustine.  (Do not confuse this reference work with the proposed Augustinus-Lexikon connected with the CSEL volumes of Augustine - a dictionary of Augustine's Latin vocabulary.)  Alphabetically-organized articles deal with concepts, persons, places, institutions, and objects of importance for understanding Augustine's life, work and teaching.  Subject-titles for articles are in Latin, derived from Augustine's writings.  The articles themselves appear in German, French, or English.  The articles have excellent bibliographies but the individual fascicules are appearing very slowly.  The latest fascicule is fasc. 3/4 of vol. 4, "Optatus episcopus Mileuitanus--Pelagius, Pelagiani." More information on the Lexicon is available in James O'Donnell's online review. and from the Augustinus Lexicon web page.

McGuckin, John Anthony, ed.  The Westminster Handbook to Origen.  Louisville; London, UK:  Westminster John Knox Press, 2004.  Ref. BR65.O68 W46 2004

Two introductory essays on "The Life of Origen" and "The Scholarly Works of Origen" are followed by alphabetically arranged articles (from "Allegory" to "Worship") on various aspects of Origen's life and work.

Pollmann, Karla, ed.  The Oxford Guide to the Historical Reception of Augustine. 3 vols.  Oxford University Press, 2013  Ref. bR65.A9 O9 2013

Contains general introductory essays (vol. 1), articles on the "material transmission and intellectual reception" of most of Augustine's works (vol. 1), and ca. 600 articles on Augustine's influence on a variety of key figures and themes (vols. 2-3).  Covers Augustine's impact on theology, political theory, ethics, music, education, semiotics, literature, philosophy, psychology, religion, and popular culture.  See the review essay (in German) by Hermann-Josef Sieben in Theologie und Philosophie 90 (2015), pp. 400-413.

Monaci Castagno, Adele, ed.  Origene Dizionario:  la cultura, il pensiero, le opere.  Rome:  Città Nuova, 2000.  Ref. BR65.O68 M635 2000

Contains 108 articles on Origen by mostly Italian scholars.  Useful bibliographies at the end of most articles.  Indexes of Greek words, biblical citations, and an analytical index.  See also "Percorsi di Lettura" (pp. 488-489) which allows the user to trace certain broad themes (anthropology, cosmology, liturgy, etc.) through several individual articles.