3c61a8dfa">Skip to main content
Frank, Karl Suso. Lehrbuch der Geschichte der Alten Kirche. Paderborn: F. Schöningh, 1996.
Ref BR162.2 .F72 1996.
This handbook is arranged chronologically in two major parts, with the reign of Constantine forming the watershed; part 2 covers through the 7th century. 78 topics are treated by means of concise descriptive entries (including chronological charts where appropriate) and bibliography.
Hauschild, Wolf-Dieter. Lehrbuch der Kirchen- und Dogmengeschichte: Alte Kirche und Mittelalter. Gütersloh: Gütersloher Verlagshaus, 1995-.
Ref BR145.2 .H382 1995 Bd.1
Similar in some ways to Frank’s volume above in the nature of its entries and bibliography. Hauschild, however, covers a much longer period of time, through the 15th century. In addition to chronological charts, this volume also has a number of maps.
Kadel, Andrew. Matrology: A Bibliography of Writings by Christian Women from the First to the Fifteenth Centuries. New York: Continuum, 1994.
BR117 .K33 1995
Kannengiesser, Charles. Handbook of Patristic Exegesis: the Bible in Ancient Christianity. 2 vols. Leiden; Boston: Brill, 2004.
Ref. BS500.K34 2004
See especially ch. 1, “Patristic Exegesis: Fifty Years of International Research,” with annotated (in some cases, extensively) bibliography including collections of primary texts, Instrumenta Studiorum, important journals, and bibliographic tools. Very useful even if your focus is not on patristic exegesis per se. See also Steven R. Harmon, “A Note on the Critical Use of Instrumenta for the Retrieval of Patristic Biblical Exegesis,” Journal of Early Christian Studies 11 (2003), pp. 95-107 available online through Project Muse.
Parry, Ken, ed. The Wiley Blackwell Companion to Patristics. Chichester, West Sussex; Malden, MA: Wiley Blackwell, 2015. BR60.A65 W55 2015
A collection of essays on selected individuals, both major and lesser-known with odd omissions (e.g., no essay on Jerome inter alia), collective groups of fathers (e.g. Cappadocians), and various topical essays on scripture in the fathers, hagiography, liturgy, church councils, scholasticism, the Reformation, and three essays on the languages of the fathers (Arabic, Greek, Latin). As some of these topics suggest, there is a distinctive emphasis on the history of the reception of the fathers. Each essay is accompanied by an extensive (but not exhaustive) bibliography.
Robinson, Thomas A. et al. The Early Church: An Annotated Bibliography of Literature in English. Metuchen, NJ and London: The American Theological Library Association and The Scarecrow Press, Inc., 1993.
Ref. BR162.2.R63 1993
Intended primarily for undergraduates, beginning graduates and interested lay-people. The first three chapters are on "Reference Works" including bibliographies, indexes, journals, atlases, dictionaries, encyclopedias and patristic texts in English. The bulk of the book is a series of bibliographies of secondary sources on special topics (e.g. "Art & Architecture," "Persecution and Martyrdom," "Worship and the Liturgy," etc.). Book reviews are also listed at the end of the informative annotations.