Research Guides: *Getting Started with Business Research: Home

Top Business & Economics Databases

Quick links to several of our most popular business databases, for when you already know where to start.

For a comprehensive list of SLU's subscription databases, please see the library's A-Z Database List.

ABI/INFORM Collection This link opens in a new window
Article database that indexes academic journals, trade publications, newspapers and magazines about business and economics. Full text is often available.
Use the "Find It at SLU" button to locate full text of articles that are not included in the database.
BizMiner This link opens in a new window
Industry information can be broken down by geography.
Business Source Premier This link opens in a new window
Article database that includes trade publications, academic journals, industry profiles, country information and company profiles, which include SWOT analyses. Full text is often available.
Use the "Find It at SLU" button to locate full text of articles that are not included in the database.
IBISWorld This link opens in a new window
Market research reports for more than 700 US industries.
MERGENT Online This link opens in a new window
Contains 15 years of historical and financial information as reported by the companies for over 15,000 U.S. public companies traded on the NYSE, NASDAQ, and AMEX stock exchanges as well as historical and financial information for approximately 17,000 non-United States-based companies from over 100 countries.
Mintel Reports This link opens in a new window
Market research data & analysis covering the US and some European countries.
Passport: Global Market Information Database This link opens in a new window
Provides international business research intelligence on industries, countries, and consumers located in Asia Pacific, Latin America, and Western Europe.
PrivCo This link opens in a new window
Private company business & financial information.
Standard & Poors NetAdvantage This link opens in a new window
This database provides access to Standard & Poors resources such as Stock Reports, Market Snapshots, and the Daily Stock Price Record for NASDAQ, American, and New York stock exchanges.
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Provides access to full-text of local, national, and international news sources; business, financial, and company information; legal sources for state and federal levels.
Conference Board This link opens in a new window
Contains the latest research in business management and US and global economics.
Statista This link opens in a new window
A statistics portal that integrates data on media, business, politics, education, technology and a wide variety of other areas of interest or markets on over 80,000 topics from 18,000 sources.