Research Guides: CORE 1000: Equity and Economics in Education: Home

Student Success and Wellness Librarian

she/her/hers

Email Me

Contact:

Pius XII Memorial Library,
lori.kupsky@slu.edu

Phone # 314-977-3592

Subjects: Education, English for Academic Purposes, Honors Program, School for Professional Studies, Student Success

If you need help knowing what type of source will work best for your research, please refer to the Rhetorical Breakdown of Sources document:

SLU's Discovery Database & Library Catalog Databases

SLUth - Search Plus This link opens in a new window
Use SLUth to start your information search - find journal articles across all disciplines, plus newspaper articles, books, ebooks and more! Some major databases such as ABI/INFORM Complete, Biological Abstracts, PsycINFO, and Sociological Abstracts are not included....more.
Saint Louis University Libraries Catalog This link opens in a new window
1818-present. Contains the most complete listing available of books, ebooks, journals, ejournals, videos, government documents, online resources, and other materials provided by the SLU Libraries....more.

Education Databases & Opposing Viewpoints

Education Source This link opens in a new window
1880-present. This major education database indexes and abstracts thousands of journals and hundreds of books relating to all aspects of education from pre-K through higher education….more.
ERIC (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
1966-present. A major database for locating articles, technical reports, policy papers, curriculum guides, lesson plans, research reports, and more about all levels of education. Provided by SLU's MOREnet membership....more.
Opposing Viewpoints This link opens in a new window
Provides pro-con resources for many topics such as hybrid cars, terrorism, legalizing marijuana, and health care by including the Opposing Viewpoints book series and much more....more.

Streaming Film Databases

Academic Video Online (AVON) This link opens in a new window
A multidisciplinary video collection that supports the entire curriculum. You'll find documentaries, interviews, feature films, news programs and newsreels, along with thousands of award-winning films, including Academy®, Emmy®, and Peabody® winners. Includes Counseling & Therapy in Video Classic & volumes III & IV collections.
Alexander Street Streaming Video This link opens in a new window
On-demand streaming video service for selected films from Alexander Street....more.
Films on Demand This link opens in a new window
Streaming video service for selected educational films from Films Media Group....more.
Kanopy This link opens in a new window
On-demand streaming video service for educational institutions....more.
PBS Video Collection: Fourth Edition This link opens in a new window
Streaming video documentaries and series from PBS.

Newspaper Databases

Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Formerly LexisNexis Academic, Nexis Uni provides access to full-text of local, national, and international news sources; business, financial, and company information; legal sources for state and federal levels...more.
New York Times Digital Subscription This link opens in a new window
1851-present. Use this link to register for a SLU NYT online account using your @slu.edu or @health.slu.edu email address.

Accounts provide SLU students, faculty, and staff with subscriber access to NYTimes.com or the NYT app. Student subscriptions are valid through the graduation date entered at sign-up. Faculty/staff subscriptions are valid for four years. Renew at accessnyt.com

For more information about registration, renewal, and available content see our NYT guide.
Wall Street Journal Digital Subscription This link opens in a new window
The SLU Libraries provide WSJ memberships to all SLU students, faculty, and staff. Readers have complete and personalized digital access to The Wall Street Journal and the WSJ app....more.

National Archives
NARA provides access U.S. history with treasure trove of docs, genealogy, and other resources
NPR
NPR includes videos, articles, and podcasts on current issues.
U.S. Department of Education
"ED's mission is to promote student achievement and preparation for global competitiveness by fostering educational excellence and ensuring equal access." This site provides, press releases, blogs, speeches, etc.
Voices of Democracy
Voices of Democracy promotes the study of great speeches and debates in U.S. history. The project features the words of those who have defined the country’s guiding principles, debated controversial social and political issues, and shaped the identity and character of the American people. The project aims to foster an understanding of the nation’s principles and history and to promote civic engagement among scholars, teachers, and students.