Medical Center Library Overview

1887-present. This multidisciplinary and multi-format database indexes and abstracts over 17,800 magazines and journals with more than 8,500 periodicals containing some full text. Over 15,000 of the journals are peer-reviewed.

Search the index and abstracts in this database for the professional and academic literature of psychology and related disciplines. Content includes journal articles, books, book chapters, and dissertations in English. 

1973-present. This international public health database brings together content from several sources to cover developed and developing countries on topics of concern to public health.

2005-current. Allows evaluation and comparison of over 24,000 journals in science, technology, and the social sciences with respect to their importance in specific disciplines.

1946-present from Ovid. International in scope, this is the primary source for access to international literature on bio-medicine, including allied health fields, communication disorders, biological and physical sciences, humanities, and information science as they relate to medicine and health care.

Freely available online. From the Center for Disease Control & Prevention, the National Center for Health Statistics is a rich source of information and statistics about American health.

Using this unique link will display the “Find It @ SLU” full-text link for all articles. The definitive database for medical research and drug studies provided by the National Center for Biotechnology Information. 1809-present. Freely available online.

Some 1788-present. Search one of the largest abstract and citation databases for materials on science, engineering, technology, and medicine along with some social sciences and humanities.

1952-present. Abstracts and indexes the international literature in sociology and related social and behavioral science disciplines. Covers journals, book, book chapters, dissertations, and conference papers.

Early 1960s-present. Search the primary database for information on sport, sports medicine, physical education, coaching, sport administration, sport law & legislation, and more.

1990-present. Brings together Arts & Humanities Citation Index, Social Sciences Citation Index, Science Citation Index Expanded and the newer Emerging Sources Citation Index. Search thousands of research journals by topic or do a Cited Reference search.